Download
orcutt academy high school n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Orcutt Academy High School PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Orcutt Academy High School

Orcutt Academy High School

0 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Orcutt Academy High School

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Orcutt Academy High School WELCOME

  2. Office Administration Principal – Rhett Carter rcarter@orcutt-schools.net Dean of Counseling and Student Services – Andrew Spear aspear@orcutt-schools.net Counselor – Monica Cedillo mcedillo@orcutt-schools.net Students with the last names A – K Counselor-Ana Perez aperez@orcutt-schools.net Students with last names L-Z

  3. Office Staff Administrative Assistant – Kim Domingues kdomingues@orcutt-schools.net Registrar Heather Bennett hbennett@orcutt-schools.net Attendance Technician Jennifer Allen jallen@orcutt-schools.net 938-8595 – Absence Line Media and Career Specialist – Brenda Williams bwilliams@orcutt-schools.net ASB Secretary – Lauren Whitham lwhitham@orcutt-schools.net

  4. OAHS Pride • Mascot - Spartan • School Colors – Blue, White, Silver

  5. School Involvement • Orcutt Academy is growing, but there are many ways to get involved: Student Government (ASB) Band Dances Clubs BE AN ACTIVE SPARTAN!

  6. sports • Fall • Girls Volleyball • Football • Cross Country • Girls Tennis • Girls Golf • Winter • Basketball • Soccer • Spring • Boys Volleyball • Boys Tennis • Track • Boys Golf • Swimming • Baseball/Softball

  7. Parent Involvement • SOAAR • PTA • Boosters • Robotics

  8. School Expectations • Dress Code • Electronic equipment • 2.0 Policy • After School Tutorial • Attendance

  9. Parking • Must have a pass. • Seniors may park in the lot in the front of the school. • Staff parking • All other student drivers may park in the lot behind the school. • Students can not park in OJHS staff lot. • Passes must be purchased in the office.

  10. Advanced Placement • Biology • Government • Statistics • Physics • Spanish • Chinese • Art • English Language (11) • Calculus AB • English Lit (12) • Calculus BC

  11. Concurrent Enrollment • World History 101 (World Civilizations to 1600) • World History 102 (World Civilizations since 1500) • U.S. History 107 (U.S. History to 1877) • U.S. History 108 (U.S. History 1877 to Present) • Child Growth and Development (Early Childhood Studies) • PROD 301 (Get Focused, Stay Focused)

  12. Parent Communication • Newsletter • Make sure we have your email address • Website • www.oahs.net • Email • name@orcutt-schools.net • (jallen) • AERIES – https://www.accessmystudent.com/orcutt/

  13. Daily Schedule • 6 periods a day/ MTF---3 Blocks on W/TH • Lunch 40 minutes • Times • Monday, Tuesday, Friday • 7:40 to 2:50 • Wednesday, Thursday • 7:40 to 2:10

  14. Spartan Seminar • Students are assigned a teacher 9th grade year. • Students stay with teacher all 4 years. • Community service hours turned in to Spartan Seminar teacher. • Naviance and CR/NC class • Team competitions. • Curriculum: • 9th – Academic • 10th – Personal and Social • 11th – Career • 12th - Transition

  15. SPIN • Specialized Instruction • Thursdays during Spartan Seminar time is now dedicated to • Improving your academic outcomes • Enhancing your learning experiences • Improve academic outcomes • Receive the help you need to be successful in your classes. • Receive the time you need to improve understanding and practice skills. • Make up assignments and tests you missed because of absences.

  16. Counseling services • 10th – 12th grade individual academic conferences • Career Days, College Fairs and College Visits • Parent nights on a variety of post graduate planning related issues • Help choosing the right college for you and help applying • Help with scholarships and financial aid • Academic, Career and Personal / Social Counseling

  17. Counseling • Personal/Social Counseling…… • Relationship, family, life, drama • Career Counseling…….. • College, work, life after high school (it does exist) • Academic Counseling……. • Grades, study skills, test taking, classes

  18. UCLA: How many apply? GPA? 55, 437 12,660 4.09 - 4.42 75% 25% below

  19. Many options after high school…. • Straight to a 4 year college • 2 year to a four year • 2 year degree • Career Tech Programs • Work • Military

  20. A-G Requirements

  21. Community Service The following guidelines can help you determine what counts for community service, Non-paid: ·       Service to a government agency ·       Service to a not-for-profit local, national or international organization ·       Service to a school or school organization ·       Service to a religious organization Some ideas for community service include: Homeless Shelters, Food Banks, Beaches Cleanup, Tutoring

  22. Upcoming Events • Back to School Night – August 17th: 5:00 – 7:00 – OAHS BBQ, Sponosred by Choir 5:30 – 6:00 – Welcome, Introductions PTA/Booster Meeting 6:00 – Classroom visitations • First day of School: August 10 (Minimum Day) • August 21 – Picture Day

  23. QUESTIONS…. • Any questions that may pertain to the group? • We will also stick around after to answer questions you may want answered individually.