1 / 12

The Supreme Land of the Land

The Supreme Land of the Land. Chapter 5, Section 3. The Goals of Our Government. To form a more perfect union Unite the 13 states under an effective national government To establish justice

Télécharger la présentation

The Supreme Land of the Land

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. The Supreme Land of the Land Chapter 5, Section 3

  2. The Goals of Our Government • To form a more perfect union • Unite the 13 states under an effective national government • To establish justice • Fair ways to settle disputes between: individuals, individuals and government, states, national and state governments • To insure domestic tranquility • A peaceful society where people are protected from unlawful acts of others • To provide the common defense • Protect citizens from attacks by other countries

  3. The Goals of our Government (cont.) • To promote the general warfare • Conditions that will benefit ALL Americans • To secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity • Gives people more freedoms (where they work, where they live, what they believe, representatives in government) • These six ideas were listed in the Preamble to the Constitution. • Following the Preamble, there are seven articles, listing various rules and ideas of the national government.

  4. Article 1 • The Legislative Branch • Describes the organization and powers of the national legislature – United States Congress ( two houses – House of Representatives and Senate) • Congress makes laws and although they have to be approved by the President, Congress can override a veto • Congress can coin money, declare war, and regulate trade (also make “necessary and proper” laws) • Article 1 also contains all the things that Congress does not have the power to do, to please Anti-Federalists

  5. Article 2 • The Executive Branch • The President – leader, but authority is based on the consent of the people • The President cannot: • Make laws, he just executes them • Declare war, but he is head of the armed forces • The President can: • Make treaties • Nominate judges • Appoint ambassadors to foreign countries • All have to be approved by the Senate first

  6. Article 3 • The Judicial Branch • Supreme Court • Judges appointed by President, approved by Senate • Court has final say in all cases involving the Constitution • Judges may serve for life if they have “good behavior” • If lower courts disagree, the case can be appealed to the Supreme Court for a final decision

  7. Article 4 • The States • Each state is required to honor laws of other states • Ex. New York’s marriage license would be valid in any of the other 12 states • Respecting other states’ laws helps preserve states’ rights and reduced possibility of conflict

  8. Article 5 • Amending the Constitution • The Framers knew that people would want to change the Constitution. • The put instructions into the Constitution so that future generations could do so as they please. • First, you suggest the change, and three-fourths of the states must approve the amendment.

  9. Article 6 • The Supremacy of the Constitution • Officials in state and national governments are required to take an oath to support the Constitution as “the supreme law of the land.” • No state law may violate the Constitution. • State laws and federal (national) laws should not conflict. • If they do, the national law takes priority.

  10. Article 7 • Ratification • The last article of the Constitution establishes the procedure of ratification, or approval, of the Constitution.

  11. Amendments to the Constitution • 27 amendments follow the seven articles • The first ten amendments were ratified in 1791 and they are called the Bill of Rights • They were added in response to the concerns of the Anti-Federalists. • After that, only 17 other amendments have been made.

  12. Limited Government • Federalism – the division of power between the states and the federal, or national, government • Some powers belong to state, some to national government, and some shared by both • Concurrent powers are shared by both governments • Reserved powers are powers that the Constitution neither gives to Congress nor denies to the states – establishing schools and to form police organizations • Checks and balances gives each brand of government ways to limit powers of the other two • Ex. President can check the actions of Congress by vetoing bills that he/she believes are not in best interest of nation • Impeach - accuse

More Related