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This case study examines BackcountryOutlet.com's e-commerce strategies to become the leading seller of discounted snowboarding equipment. Key objectives include increasing revenue by managing last season’s inventory and enhancing search engine visibility. Analysis of January 2008 data reveals significant metrics, including $1.1 million in revenue from 808,874 visits. Recommendations focus on reallocating advertising spend, improving conversion rates through coupon codes, and optimizing keyword strategies to enhance site performance.
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Team 2o7 – Web Analytics Competition • Casey Jackman • Software Engineering • Kirk Ouimet • Web Marketing • Richard Taggart • Technology Instruction
Backcountryoutlet.com Background • Business model: E-commerce • Site objectives • “We want to be the leading seller of discounted snowboarding equipment” • Sell off last season’s inventory in order to free up cash to purchase more product • Move expired merchandise • Current marketing methods • Heavy SEO and referrals from backcountry.com • Tuesday e-mail blasts
KPIs for E-commerce Sites Yield Conversion Order Size
Yield = Revenue / Visits • Primarily involved with how people are finding the site • Relative indicators • Number of visits and visitors • Average position in search engine listings • Search terms (paid and natural) • Return on advertising spending • Error pages, referring domains, referring URLs
Yield – Revenue in January 2008 • Yield = Revenue / Visits • $1.1 million in revenue in Jan. (~$35,000/day) • Most sold product: Nixon Gable Baseball Cap
Yield – Visits in January 2008 • Yield = Revenue / Visits • 808,874 visits in January (~30,000/day) • 59% from other websites, 33% from search engines, 7% direct
Yield in January • Monthly Yield = $1.1 million / 809,000 visits • Yield for January = $1.36 / visit
Yield – Recommendations • Stop paying for keywords that are already in the first position in search engine listings:
Example of Paying for Natural Keywords • Stop paying for keywords that are already in the first position in search engine listings:
Reallocate Advertising Funds • Term “backcountry outlet” – 1,857 clicks • Term “back country outlet” – 564 clicks • 2,421 clicks at a conservative 30 cent CPC = $726.3 of poorly allocated advertising spending per month ($8,715.60 per year) • Recommendation: Spend the money on more specific keywords like product or brand names
Effects of Reallocating Advertising Funds • Less money spent on keywords that are already ranked in the first position • More advertising funds available to spend on valuable keywords such as “snowboards”, “prana”, “oakley sunglasses”, and “discount ski gear” – keywords which historically increase backcountryoutlet.com’s yield
Conversion = Orders / Visits • Primarily involved with how people are interacting with your site • Relative indicators • Number of visits and orders • Cart opens, additions, checkouts • Cart fallout percentage • Checkout initiation rate • Product browse to buy ratio
Conversion Visits Orders Conversion Rate
Conversion Breakdown • Conversion = Orders / Visits (100,795 / 6,284,598 = 1.60%) • Can be broken down into a factor of • Cart Opens / Visits • Orders / Cart Opens 5.3% x 30.0% = 1.6%
Increasing Conversion Conversion = Cart Opens Visits x Orders Cart Opens
Increasing Conversion Campaign Conversion Campaigns with most orders for October ’07
Conversion – Recommendations • Use more coupon codes • People are ~4% more likely to place an order if they have a coupon code • Increase the number of feed subscribers • Make it easy to subscribe to a feed
Screen clipping taken: 2/22/2008, 10:46 AM Recommendations
Revenue Comparison • Currently Linked on SiteMap • Subcategory: 66 North Iceland : $408 • Category Shoes : $1447 • Recommended Link on SiteMap • Category Men’s Jackets : $6,357 • Category Sunglasses : $3,376
Recommendations • Stop spending advertising funds on highly ranked natural keywords • Start spending advertising funds on specific product and brand keywords • Utilize coupon codes • Focus on RSS feed visibility and subscriptions • Capitalize on Google’s sitemap • Cater popular content to low resolution visitors