Download
first touching n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
First Touching PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
First Touching

First Touching

215 Vues Download Presentation
Télécharger la présentation

First Touching

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. First Touching Meeting of 21 Sep 06

  2. Our Mission • To review the rules for first touching • To demonstrate our understanding of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly

  3. Who Can Commit It & When? • It occurs when • K touches a kick • When and • Where • They do not have the right to retain possession • It can occur during a free kick or a scrimmage kick

  4. Background—Free Kick • 2-44: Touching refers to any contact with the ball, i.e., either by touching or being touched by it. • 2-12-1: During a free kick it is first touching if the ball is touched in the field of play by any kicker before it crosses R’s free-kick line and before it is touched there by any R player. • It is not a foul: • 2-16-1: The definition a foul is a rule infraction for which a penalty is prescribed • 2-16-6:The first touching of a kick is a game situation which produces a result somewhat similar to a penalty, but which is not classified as foul • We throw a bean bag, not a flag, unless the first touching is also kick catching interference

  5. What Is First Touching Of A Free Kick? • 2-12-1: During a free kick it is first touching if the ball is touched in the field of play by any kicker before it crosses R’s free-kick line and before it is touched there by any R player. • Once it crosses the line, it is not first touching, and once it is touched by an R player, it is not first touching. • By this definition, there can be more than one first touching. • We do not wind the clock when first touching occurs (3-4-1a)

  6. What Is First Touching? • First touching does not cause the ball to become dead, unless K also possesses the kick. • The place where first touching is committed is referred to as the spot of first touching.

  7. Free Kick First Touching (6-1-6): • By K • Before it is touched by R • In the neutral zone and; • Before it crosses R’s free kick line • Must meet all of these to be first touching

  8. Touching By K: • If the touching that would otherwise be first touching is caused by R pushing or blocking K into contact with the ball, that touching is ignored (6-1-6)

  9. “Before It Is Touched By R” (6-1-5) • There are times that we ignore touching by R during a free kick • In the neutral zone • If caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball or; • If K muffs the ball into contact with R

  10. Consequences Of First Touching: • If K commits first touching, most of the time, R can choose to put the ball in play at the spot of first touching, or the spot of first touching that is most advantageous, if there is more than one (6-1-6) • First touching does not kill the ball—it remains alive. • We do not start the clock on first touching of a free kick. (3-4-1a)

  11. When Do R’s Rights Get Cancelled (6-1-6)? • If R touches the kick • And thereafter during the down • Commits a foul • Or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down • The right to take the ball at the spot of first touching is cancelled

  12. Scrimmage Kick First Touching (6-2-5) • By K • Beyond the neutral zone expanded in the field of play • Before it is touched beyond the neutral zone by R • Before the ball has come to rest

  13. “Before It Is Touched By R” (6-2-4) • There are times that we ignore touching by R • For a scrimmage kick, we ignore R’s touching if caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball • Or if K legally bats or muffs the ball into R • Per 6-2-6, we also ignore any touching by any player of a low scrimmage kick in or behind the expanded neutral zone (2 yards behind the defensive line of scrimmage, in the field of play—2-28-3)

  14. When Do We Ignore Touching by K? (6-2-5) • If R pushes or blocks K into the kick, we ignore the touching

  15. Situation #1 (6.1.6A): • A free kick from K's 40 is high and comes down over K's 45 where it is muffed in flight by K2 after which it is recovered by K3 on R's 40. • RULING: This is first touching and also kick-catching interference by K2. R may choose to take the ball at the spot of first touching, accept the 15-yard penalty for kick-catching interference and have K rekick or R may choose to accept the penalty of an awarded fair catch at the spot of the interference. (6-5-4, 6)

  16. Situation #1 (6.1.6A): • COMMENT: The clock will not be started when there is first touching of a free kick. The purpose is to prevent the kickers from taking advantage by touching the ball to start the clock and thereby deny the receivers the opportunity of putting the ball in play. The exception the clock not start with first touching, is protection for the receiving team and is consistent with the philosophy that the receiving team be given an opportunity of putting the ball in play following a free kick. (3-4-1)

  17. Situation #2 (RD 6.25.1) • K1’s kickoff hits the ground and is then touched first by K2, whose touching occurs (a) 5 yards beyond K’s free kick line; or (b) 15 yards beyond K’s free kick line. In each case, K recovers the kick. • Ruling: In (a), first touching by K2. Team R will take the ball at that spot, first down. In (b), there was nothing wrong with K2’s touching and team K keeps the ball first down at the spot of K2’s recovery.

  18. Situation #3 (SG 6.1) • K1’s kickoff is airborne over R’s 48 yard line, but a gust of wind blows it back to K’s 47 yard line where the first player to touch it, K2, makes the recovery. • Ruling: Team K’s ball. The kick broke the plane of R’s free kick line (traveled 10 yards) and touched the ground.

  19. Situation #4 (SG 6.3) • On a kickoff, K1 touches the ball at his own 48 yard line. As the play continues, R2 gains possession, carries the ball a few yards and fumbles. K3 recovers the ball and is downed. • Ruling: The first touching by K1 gives R the option of taking the ball at the 48 yard line, so the fumble recovery by K is for naught.

  20. Situation #5 (SG 6.4) • K1 touches the kickoff at his 47 yard line and then K2 touches it at his 49 yard line. R3 recovers the ball and advances to K’s 45 yard line. • Ruling: Team K’s 47 and 49 are both first touching spots, but Team R will accept the result of the play, first and 10 on K’s 45 yard line.

  21. Situation #6 (SG 6.5) • K1’s kickoff glances the leg of K2 at his 46 yard line, is touched by R3 at K’s 48 yard line and is recovered by K4 at R’s 49 yard line. • Ruling: Although K was entitled to possession at R’s 49 yard line, first touching occurred at K’s 46 yard line. The ball belongs to R at the spot of first touching.

  22. Situation #7 (SG 6.6) • R1 touches the kickoff at K’s 46 yard line. K2 then touches it at his 49 yard line and the ball is recovered at R’s 47 yard line by (a) R3; or (b) K4. • Ruling: first touching does not apply since R was the first to touch the kick. K2’s touching is legal and the results of the play stand.

  23. Situation #8 (SG 6.7) • K tries an onside kickoff from the own 40. Before the untouched kick has traveled 10 yards, K1 blocks R2 into the ball at K’s 45 yard line. K3 recovers the ball and is downed at his own 47 yard line. • Ruling: Although K1 blocked before being eligible to touch the ball, it is not a foul. However, R2 was blocked into the ball, so his touching is disregarded. Thus, K3 is guilty of first touching. Team R will most likely accept the first touching privileges and put the ball in play at the spot of first touching, K’s 47 yard line.

  24. Situation #9 (SG 6.III.4) • Team K kicks off @ K-40. K1 first touches the ball @ K-46, after which the ball goes out of bounds untouched by Team R @ 50. • Ruling: K committed a violation (first touching) and a foul (free kick out of bounds). R has the following options: • Take the result of the down and take the ball @ 50 • Accept the 5 yard penalty and have K re-kick • Put the ball in play 25 yards beyond the previous spot (@ R-35) • Decline the penalty and take the ball @ K-46, spot of first touching

  25. Situation #10 (SG 6.III.5) • K’s onside kick is rolling in the neutral zone when K1 muffs the ball. The ball strikes R2’s leg and is recovered by K3 @ R-45. • Ruling: The touching by R2 is ignored as it was caused by K1’s muff. Team R will accept the ball at the spot of first touching.

  26. Situation #11 (6.2.5): • K1 attempts to down a punt beyond the neutral zone, but his touching only slows it down. The bouncing ball is subsequently recovered by R1, who advances 25 yards but then fumbles and K2 recovers. K2 is immediately tackled. • RULING: R may either take the results of the play or retain possession by taking the ball at the spot of K1's first touching. R can exercise this option, unless after R1 touches the ball, R commits a foul or the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down.

  27. Situation #12 (9.7.2A): • With fourth and 4 from R's 40-yard line, K1 punts. The kick is bounding near R's goal line and K2, in an attempt to keep it from penetrating the plane of the goal line, bats the ball at the 2-yard line back toward his own goal line. In (a) it is recovered by R1 who advances to his 30; or (b) it is recovered by R2 who attempts to advance, but retreats and is downed in his own end zone. • RULING: The bat by K2 is legal because it occurred beyond the neutral zone. In (a) R would obviously take the results of the play and put the ball in play first and 10 from its 30. In (b) since the result of the play is a safety, R would take the ball at the 2, which is the spot of first touching where K2 legally batted the kick. (6-2-5; 8-5-2a; 9-7-2 Exp)

  28. Situation #13 (RD 6.25.2) • 4th down on K’s 20 yard line. K1 punts. The kick hits the ground at R’s 45 yard line and on R’s 40 yard line, K2 (a) touches the ball, which continues to roll; or (b) possesses the ball. • Ruling: In each case, K2’s touching is first touching. In (a), the ball remains alive because touching the kick does not cause the ball to become dead if it continues to move. In (b), the ball is dead when possessed by K2.

  29. Situation #14 (SG 6.14) • K1’s punt is rolling downfield when K2 touches it @ R-20. The ball (a) comes to rest @ R-10 and is blown dead there; (b) is picked up by R3 @ R-10 and advanced to R-30; (c) is picked up by R4 @ R-10. R4 retreats and is downed @ R-5. • Ruling: In (a) and (c), R will choose the spot of first touching, R-20. In (b), R will take the result of the play, 1st and 10 from their 30 yard line.

  30. Situation # 15 (SG 6.15) • K1’s punt is beyond the neutral zone and is first touched by K2. R3 picks up the ball, returns it for 10 yards, and fumbles. The ball is recovered and downed by K4. R5 clipped during R3’s return. • Ruling: K may keep the football by declining the penalty for R5’s foul. Since R fouled after they touched the kick, their option to take the ball at the spot of first touching is canceled.

  31. Our Mission • To review the rules for first touching • To demonstrate our understanding of the rules by answering the quiz questions correctly

  32. Thank you!