How to Use This Slide Show You can go to the next slide by using the right arrow key on your keyboard. You can go back to the next slide by using the left arrow key on your keyboard
Purpose of This Slide Show Educate you on the laws that govern manufacturers of food products Make you aware of how potentially threatening ingredients can hide in the ingredients list. Educate you where to find the ingredients list Educate you on the names of potentially threatening ingredients that could be in the ingredients list
General Label Reading The purpose of this slide show is not to show how to read a food label for calories, sugar, or fat content so we will not be be discussing nutrition facts but looking at the ingredients list which is located either directly under or right next to the nutrition facts in the food label of the product.
General Label Reading The FDA requires food labels to list common allergens in language that's easy to understand. Allergens are listed either in the ingredients list, after the list or right next to it.
The Law Effective January 1, 2006, foods covered by FDA labeling laws that contain peanut and milk must be labeled in plain English to declare that it “contains peanut” or “contains milk.” However, there are many food and products that are not covered by FDA allergen labeling laws (e. g., strawberries).
Peanuts Look out for these ingredients: arachic oil mixed nuts arachis monkey nuts arachis hypogaea nu nuts flavored nuts artificial nuts nut pieces beer nuts nutmeat boiled peanuts peanuts cold pressed or expelled peanut oil peanut flour crushed nuts, crushed peanuts peanut paste
Peanuts Look out for these ingredients, cont: dry roasted peanuts peanut butter, peanut butter chips, peanut butter morsels earth nuts peanut sauce or syrup goober peas spanish peanuts goobers Virginia peanuts ground nuts, ground peanuts hydrolyzed peanut protein hypogaeic acid mandelonas
Peanuts These products may contain peanuts: artificial flavoring baking goods candy chili chocolate crumb toppings fried foods flavorings graham cracker crust marzipan hydrolyzed plant protein mole sauce hydrolyzed vegetable protein nougat ethnic foods: African, Asian, Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Thai, Vietnamese, Mexican
Peanuts This may not be safe: Lupine is a legume that cross-reacts with peanut at a high rate and should be avoided by peanut allergic patients. It does not fall under the labeling requirements FDA. Lupine is also known as lupinus albus and can be found in seed or flour form.
Dairy Look out for these ingredients: butter casein & caseinates cheese (all kinds) vegetarian cheeses with casein cream (all kinds) curds custard dairy product solids galactose ghee half & half hydrolysates ice cream lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate lactate solids lactyc yeast lactitol monohydrate lactoglobulin
Dairy Look out for these items, cont: lactose lactulose milk (all kinds) milk fat, anhydrous milk fat nisin preparation nougat pudding recaldent rennet, rennet casein simplesse (fat replacer) whey yogurt sour cream, imitation sour cream
Dairy These products may contain dairy: natural flavoring flavoring caramel flavoring high protein flour lactic acid (usually not a problem) lactic acid starter culture “non-dairy” products may contain casein rice cheese soy cheese
Dairy These should be safe: Lactoferrin Tagatose (Naturlose) These milk derivatives should be safe for most individuals with milk allergy, but check with your doctor before using.
Strawberries These products may contain strawberries: Jams and jellies even if it claims to be blueberry or another type of berry, it could still have strawberries in it. Pies and pie fillings. Strawberries are often blended with other berries to create the berry-base for the pie.