BSA Conservation Awards - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

bsa conservation awards n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
BSA Conservation Awards PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
BSA Conservation Awards

play fullscreen
1 / 16
BSA Conservation Awards
Download Presentation
Download Presentation

BSA Conservation Awards

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. BSA Conservation Awards Nov 18, 2013

  2. Why Conservation? • Boy Scouts is an outdoor program • Since its founding, the Scouting movement has encouraged members to respect and protect the natural environment • Leave No Trace • Outdoor Code • (Environmental) Stewardship

  3. Leave No Trace • Plan ahead and prepare. • Travel and camp on durable surfaces. • Dispose of waste properly. • Leave what you find. • Minimize campfire impacts. • Respect wildlife. • Be considerate of other visitors.

  4. Outdoor Code • As an American, I will do my best to • Be clean in my outdoor manners, • Be careful with fire, • Be considerate in the outdoors, and • Be conservation-minded.

  5. Stewardship • Meaning: • To take care of that which has been entrusted to your care • By Extension: • Make things better than you found/received them • Think about: • When you visit a place you see it once (today) but the site sees the accumulated wear and tear of everyone that came to visit. • The more special a place, the more people that want to see/experience it.

  6. BSA Recognition Troop Awards Individual Awards • Conservation Good Turn Award • Wm T. Hornaday Unit Award • World Conservation Award • Keep America Beautiful Hometown USA Award • Wm T. Hornaday Series There are other awards for other scouting groups (e.g. Cubs, Venturing etc.)

  7. Some Awards have Conservation Projects as part of the Requirements • 50 Miler • Historic Trails • Leave no Trace • Paul Bunyan Woodsman

  8. Conservation Good Turn Award • The Conservation Good Turn is an opportunity for Cub Scout packs, Boy Scout troops, Varsity Scout teams, and Venturing crews to join with conservation or environmental organizations (federal, state, local, or private) to carry out a conservation Good Turn in their home communities. • The Scouting unit contacts a conservation agency and offers to carry out a Good Turn project. • The agency identifies a worthwhile and needed project that the unit can accomplish. • Working together in the local community, the unit and the agency plan the details and establish the date, time, and location for carrying out the project.

  9. World Conservation Award • As a Boy Scout, you can earn this award by earning the following merit badges: • Environmental Science merit badge. • Soil and Water Conservation or Fish and Wildlife Management merit badge. • Citizenship in the World merit badge.

  10. Keep America Beautiful Hometown USA Award The Hometown U.S.A. Award is a joint program between Keep America Beautiful Inc. (KAB) and the Boy Scouts of America. It is designed to give recognition to the outstanding efforts of Scouts in their communities in regard to citizenship and environmental improvement. Merit badges. Earn three merit badges from the following list of twelve: Citizenship in the Community, Communications, Environmental Science, Fish and Wildlife Management, Forestry, Gardening, Geology, Landscape Architecture, Nature, Plant Science, Public Speaking, Soil and Water Conservation. Community service project. In addition to earning the merit badges, a Boy Scout is required to perform a community service project. The project should involve a minimum of eight hours of time, two of which must involve management planning, with the other six consisting of carrying out the project. It should help keep America beautiful and benefit the community either physically or financially.

  11. Wm T. Hornaday Series • William T Hornaday was the director of the NY Zoo; founder of the National Zoo; and lead the preservation of the American Bison, Alaska fur seal, and helped to ban bird feathers in women’s hats • BSA Award was established in 1914! • 6 Levels: • The Unit Award - a Certificate awarded on the Council Level. • The Hornaday Badge • The Hornaday Gold Badge, adult Scouters (3 years service) • The Bronze and Silver Medals (avg. 14/year nationally) • The Gold Medal, adult Scouters (20 years service) – only 50 ever awarded • Gold Certificates, Corporations, or Organizations unaffiliated with Scouting. (No more than 6 are awarded annually.) (3 years service)

  12. The Hornaday Badge • Must be 1st Class • Earn Designated Merit Badges (3 Primary; 2 Other) • Lead 1 Conservation Service Project (Eagle Level – no double dipping) from any of the 8 categories

  13. The Hornaday Bronze Medal • Must be 1st Class • Earn Designated Merit Badges (ES + 3 Primary; 2 Other) • Lead 3 Conservation Service Projects (Eagle Level – no double dipping) from 3 of the 8 categories

  14. The Hornaday Silver Medal • Must be 1st Class • Earn Designated Merit Badges (6 Primary; 3 Other) • Lead 4 Conservation Service Projects (Eagle Level – no double dipping) from 4 of the 8 categories

  15. 8 Hornaday Project Categories • Energy Conservation • Soil and Water Conservation • Fish and Wildlife Management • Forestry and Range Management • Air and Water Pollution Control • Resource Recovery (Recycling) • Hazardous Material Disposal and Management • Invasive species control

  16. Most of all… Have fun with it