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Learn essential strategies for thriving in online marketing through Search Engine Marketing best practices. Understand the vital aspects of SEM like keywords, ad text, targeting, and landing pages to boost your business effectiveness.
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Google for TechnoPhobes- BizTechDay 2009 David Rodnitzky
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Search Engine Marketing (SEM) vs. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Search Engine Marketing is Not Magic • Best practices in SEM can improve your business • SEM best practices cannot cure your business
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective SEM Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Search Engines • The big three • Google (78% market share) • Yahoo (11%) • MSN/Bing (8%) • The “second tier” • AOL (Uses AdWords) • Ask (Mostly Google backfill) • The specialists • AdKnowledge • IndustryBrains (Marchex) • Business.com • QuigoAdSonar (AOL) • Pulse 360 • Kontera/Vibrant (in-text) Source: http://www.statcounter.com/images/pr/search-engine-us-apr-may-09.png
Search Engines: Google • Google Search • Good: Easy, Reliable and Large • Bad: Competitive, Direct-Response, Quality Score • Google Content • Two types: Content, Placement • Good: Easy, Less Competitive, Latent Demand, No Quality Score • Bad: Inconsistent, Complex, Requires Effort
Search Engines: Yahoo & MSN • Advantages • Less competitive • More account support • Less restrictive rules • Disadvantages: • Traffic volume much lower • User interfaces are terrible • Traffic quality inconsistent • Recommendation: • Optimize Google first, then worry about Yahoo and MSN
Search Engines: “Other” • Vertical Search • Good: Targeted, Quality, Latent Demand • Bad: Expensive, Low Volume, “ROE” • Example sites: • AdKnowledge • QuigoAdSonar • Pulse360
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Keywords = Overrated? • 2003: Keywords are king! • Long live the long tail • 2005: Google introduces “quality score” • Non-relevant keyword buys will cost you . . . a lot • 2006: Google expands “broad match” algorithm • Long tail starts to disappear • 2008: “Advanced” broad match introduced • Buy keyword, get matched on entire category • 2010: Just tell us your category? • What’s a keyword? Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/08/do-keywords-matter-anymore.html
Keyword Best Practices • Track each keyword (see tracking/reporting later) • Target keywords with appropriate landing pages and ad text • Bid at keyword level • Keyword research tools: • Google keyword tool: https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal • SpyFu.com • AdLab.Microsoft.com • Raw search queries
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Ad Text 101 • Call to action • Four human emotions • Fear • Greed • Exclusivity • Vanity • Targeted to specific ad group • Test, test, test – CTR X Conv. Rate Source: http://www.amazon.com/Direct-Mail-Copy-That-Sells
Advanced Ad Text • Dynamic keyword insertion (DKI) • Display URLs & custom 404 pages • Google Checkout & PayPal • Tell the user what to do • Geo-targeting Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/four-tricks-to-gain-unfair-advantage-on.html
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
What’s A Landing Page? • Homepage can be a landing page but . . .
Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html
Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html
Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html
Landing Page Success Factors • Clear call to action • Important data above the fold • Establish credibility • Highly targeted to your keyword & ad text • Function over form (limit flash, sound, etc) • Multiple methods of communication • Test, test, test • Quality score: contact us, privacy policy, about us, site map, load time Source: http://www.blogation.net/2006/03/why-landing-page-is-like-good-suit.html
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Basic Bidding Calculation • Basic bidding: RPC X (1-MG) where . . . • RPC = Revenue per click • MG = Margin goal • Example: Widget Co. has a 5% conversion rate on clicks to a white paper landing page. 1% of white paper downloads result in a sale with revenue of $5000. Margin goal is 20% on advertising. • 2000 clicks get 100 downloads and 1 sale. RPC is $5000/2000 or $2.50. $2.50 X (1 - .2) = $2 CPC.
Campaign Management EcoSystem Monthly Spend $50,000+ mo $5,000 to $50,000 mo Under $5,000/mo Bid Management + Campaign Management Tools Bid Management + Full Service Agency Bid Management Only Services Offered
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Reporting Data Sources • Search engines • APIs are available • Google desktop editor • Log files • Time stamp • Raw search query • Web analytics • Click path • Click overlay • CRM and sales team • Phone calls • Offline conversions
What Metrics Matter for SEM? • Search engine metrics • CTR • CPC • Position • ROI metrics • Definition of a conversion • Conversion rate • Cost per lead • Margin goal • DB metrics • Offline conversions • Phone calls • Time of day • Geography
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
Targeting Options: Yesterday & Today • 2003: • Match type • Negative keywords • 2008: • Match type • Negative keywords • Site exclusion • IP exclusion • Site targeting • Geo-targeting • Day-parting • Demographic targeting • Positional targeting
Consequences of Not Targeting • Advertiser A: • Buys 2000 keywords • No targeting or filtering • Gets lots of clicks on bad keywords, outside of geographic area and when office is closed. Turns off SEM after a few months. • Advertiser B: • Buys 2000 keywords • Quickly excludes non-performing keywords, ad text, geographies, times of day, and sites. • Dominates high conversion keywords with high bids and targeted messaging, pays nothing for bad keywords. Wins!
Agenda Overview Search engines Keywords Ad Text Landing Pages Bids Reporting Targeting Bonus!- SEO Source: http://www.blogation.net/2008/01/7-habits-of-highly-effective-search.html
SEO Best Practice #1: Meta-Content • Meta Title, Meta Description, Meta Keywords • Title = 145 characters; Description = Two sentences • Search engines read from left to right • Each page needs separate meta-content • Be reasonable about the words you are trying to rank for
SEO Best Practice #2: Relevant Content • Write unique content relevant to your business • Consider “keyword density” • Avoid duplicate content • 150-250 words minimum per page
SEO Best Practice #3: Relevant Linking • Get relevant Web sites to link to your site • Ask them for specific “anchor text” • Avoid reciprocal links • Avoid “link farms” or “text link ads” • Create good internal linking structure
Thank You! • Contact Info: • David Rodnitzky, david@ppcassociates.com • Company: www.ppcassociates.com • Blog: www.blogation.net • Conference: www.CRSconference.com • Networking group: www.onlineleadgen.org