Exploring the Dynamics of Social Web: Interactions, Incentives, and Stakeholders
This document delves into the intricacies of the social web, focusing on observable macro effects and micro interactions. It examines various motivations that drive user behavior, including economic and social incentives for activities such as trading, dating, and self-expression. The presentation also categorizes social web platforms into networking and media sites while highlighting key statistics on user engagement across major platforms like Facebook and Twitter. Moreover, it outlines the roles of different stakeholders in shaping the dynamics of online communities.
Exploring the Dynamics of Social Web: Interactions, Incentives, and Stakeholders
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Presentation Transcript
Social Web Manyslidesadaptedfrom Lora Aroyohttp://de.slideshare.net/laroyo
Daten & Informationen Governance Protokolle Verhalten Anwendungen Emotion Sozialisation Wissen Kognition Produzieren Konsumieren BeobachtbareMakro-Effekteim Web BeobachtbareMikro-Interaktionen im Web WWW
MotivationsforMicro-interactions • Economicincentives • Earningmoney • Buyinggoods • Trading • Auctions • Socialincentives • Communicating • Dating (17% couples in SF in 2010 via internet) • Peer groups • Interest groups • Self-expression • Blogs • Entertainment • Music • Video • ... Multiple motivationsmayexistforoneaction Motivationsmayoverlap
Social Web Sites = Social Media Sites + Social Networking Sites
Social Sites Categories • Socialnetworkingsites (open vsclosed) • General purpose: e.g. Facebook, LinkedIn • Vertical: e.g. Couchsurfing, Dogster • Socialmediasites (open vsclosed) • Media types • Images: Flickr,... • Video: YouTube, MyVideo,... • Audio: Spotify, Last.fm,...
http://www.fastcodesign.com/1664377/infographic-of-the-day-the-alchemy-behind-facebook-and-youtubehttp://www.fastcodesign.com/1664377/infographic-of-the-day-the-alchemy-behind-facebook-and-youtube
CPM (cost per mille) Also CPI (cost per impression) An exampleofcomputingthe CPM: • Total costforrunningthe ad is $15,000. • The total estimatedaudienceis 2,400,000 people. • CPM iscalculatedas: ($15,000/2,400,000)*1000 = $6.25 per thousandviews
CPC (cost per click) Also cost per action (CPA) • Much higherthan per thousandviews • Conversion rate • eCPM • EffectivCost per Mille
Socialmediaactivities in numbers • 800+ million – # ofusers on Facebook bythe end of 2011. • 350 million – # ofFacebook usersthat log in totheserviceusingtheir mobile phone. • 100 million – # ofactiveTwitterusers in 2011. • 18.1 million – People following Lady Gaga. Twitter’smostpopularuser. • 250 million – # oftweets per day (October 2011). • 8,868 – # oftweets per second in August forthe MTV Video Music Awards. • 70 million – Total # ofWordPressblogsbythe end of 2011. • 1 billion – The numberofmessagessentwithWhatsAppduringoneday (October 2011). • 2.4 billion – Socialnetworkingaccountsworldwide. http://royal.pingdom.com/2012/01/17/internet-2011-in-numbers/
“TenetsofSocial Computing”* innovationwill shiftfrom top-down tobottom-up • Designer housevsdesignercrowd • Consultant vstopcoder valuewill shiftfromownershiptoexperience • Car vsdriving • CDs vsaudiofilesowningvsrighttostreamaudio power will shiftfrominstitutionstocommunities • Uni Bayreuth vsGuttenplag Charlene Li (2006), http://www.socialcustomer.com/2006/02/the_forrester_s.html 10 yearsofsocialcomputing Not muchhaschanged?
Social Web Stakeholders • Service providers • Community owners (often, but not always, identicalwith 1) • Institutionalactors • Politics • Companies • Brand owners • Marketers • Salesinstitutions • Lobby groups
Social Web Stakeholders • Service providers • Community owners (often, but not always, identicalwith 1) • Institutionalactors • ... • NGOs • https://www.facebook.com/amnestyglobal?fref=ts • Diverse • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Institute-for-Web-Science-and-Technologies-WeST • https://www.facebook.com/MasterWebScience?fref=ts • Community member • Often: you!
Daten & Informationen Governance Protokolle Verhalten Anwendungen Emotion Sozialisation Wissen Kognition Produzieren Konsumieren BeobachtbareMakro-Effekteim Web BeobachtbareMikro-Interaktionen im Web WWW
Someinterestingquestionsforhosters & c owners Howtoretainusers on the web site • Maximizing ad gains (ad impressions) • Collectingandsellingdata (e.g. aboutusers) • Involvingthem in higher-valueactions • Targetedadvertising – higherclick-throughandconversionrates! • Datingservicestosingles • Childcareofferingstoparents • Sports ads in YouTube sportsvideos • Upselling: • makingthempayfor premium services(freemiummodel) • Making thempayforfurtherservices (games on FB) • Making thempayforotherservices(e.g. freemusic online, but highlypaidlifeconcerts!)
Someinterestingquestionsforinstitutions Howtoaddresscommunitymembers such that • Ownreputationisimproved • Ownbrandismorevisibleand fashionable • Triggeringcommunitymembersto do: • Buying • Recommendationstofriends • Donationsto non-commercial institutions • Joining a group / studying ... • ...
Someinterestingquestionsforyou • Communicate • Encounter • Learn • Self-express myself • Entertainmyself • Music • Video • ... • ... • Howto • Earnmoney • Buygoods • Trade Trust Recommendations
New meansofcommunication • Beyond email, textmessaging, and mobile phone • Asychronous (not requiring real-time response) • A lotofcommunicationseems irrelevant & trivial • Somecanbehelpfulandinteresting • Somepeopleaddicted • Interestingtwistbetweenadvertisements, self-promotion andstillingcuriosityaboutcelebrities
New form ofcommunities • Social web sitesare in essence online communities • Groups around a numberofnaturalattributes • Schools attended • Employers • Cities ofresidence • Groups aroundany type ofinterest, hobbyorcause • Helpingeachotherwininformation • Advice • Personal networks • Specificfunctions • LinkedInmostsuccessfulforitsrecruitmentservices
New sourceofknowledge • beyondwhatsearchenginescandiginto • Search for „interesting cool video“ on Google • People candigintotheirnetworkofconnectionsto find answerstoquestions • Folklore knowledge • Friends-basednewsupdates • Friends-basedsenrendipity • „world-widedirectories“ ofpeople
New sourceofentertainment • Recommendationsfor • Movies • Music • Artists • Readings • Trivia • ...
New venueforself-expression • A surprisingly large numberofpeoplehavehad a strong desireforself-expression anddesireforself-satisfactionthatcomesfromhelpingothers • A majorreasonfor Wikipedia success • More than 10 millionarticles • Hundredsofthousandsofvolunteers • Reallyactivecrowdismuchsmaller • Postingseemstocreate a sense ofself-assuranceandbelonging
Systematicoverpredictionandunderestimation Recently in thenews: „Social Web isoverrated“ „Goodforserviceproviders“ „badforus“ • Tenet • Near-future implicationsareoverrated • Long-term implicationsareunderestimated • ....in almosteveryfieldatalmostany time...
Systematicoverpredictionandunderestimation Onereason:
Cognitive Surplus Let‘stalkabout human computationlater....