buddhist teachings the dharma n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Buddhist Teachings: the Dharma PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Buddhist Teachings: the Dharma

Buddhist Teachings: the Dharma

148 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Buddhist Teachings: the Dharma

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Buddhist Teachings:the Dharma rels 120 - appleby Rels 120: Religion, Spirituality & Health 15 October 2013

  2. Table Groups for Buddhism

  3. When the Buddha experienced Enlightenment, what had he discovered? What did he now understand about the meaning and purpose of life? His teachings provide answers to two puzzling questions about human existence: • How can we minimize suffering – both our own and that of others? • How can we attain inner peace? rels 120 - appleby

  4. Three Marks of Reality • Constant change; life is impermanent; the universe fluctuates; constancy is an illusion; everything is subject to growth, change and decline • No permanent identity; no permanent self; no atman[unlike Hinduism]; physical bodies, instincts, memories, ideas, fears & hopes are constantly changing our selves • Existence of suffering / dukkha; everyone experiences sorrow, dissatisfaction, disease, frustration One responds to suffering by means of the Four Noble Truths rels 120 - appleby

  5. Four Noble Truths Original Buddhist teaching (Dharma) • All life entails suffering • Change, impermanence, illness, loss, death • The cause of suffering is desire • For possessions, power, sex, security • Removing desire removes suffering • Because desire causes attachment to things that are impermanent • Remove desire by following the Eightfold Path rels 120 - appleby

  6. The Eightfold Path to Enlightenment • Right views • Right thought • No hatred or cruelty • Right speech • No lying, gossip or frivolity • Right action • No killing, stealing, harming • Right livelihood • No earnings from astrology, magic or inflicting harm • Right effort • Clear and calm mind • Right mindfulness • Meditation and detachment • Right concentration • Mastering trance state rels 120 - appleby

  7. PemaChodron speaks with Bill Moyers (Segment on suffering) rels 120 - appleby (Part 2 of 6 – 9:35 min.)

  8. Three Central Categories • Morality = • right speech; right action; right livelihood • Meditation = • right effort; right mindfulness; right concentration • Insight or wisdom = • right views; right thought rels 120 - appleby

  9. “We are what we think” Look within. Be still. Free from fear and attachment, Know the sweet joy of the way. The Dhammapada rels 120 - appleby

  10. Commonalities amongHinduism, Jainism and Buddhism Ahimsa • Do no harm, non-violence, non-injury • Do not cause suffering for others • Do not cause psychological harm • Do not exploit others • Live with gentleness, compassion and mercy • Live in harmony with others rels 120 - appleby

  11. DifferencesAlthough Buddhists believe in rebirth, they believe that no individual soul remains intact to be reborn in another life • Instead, elements of one’s personality in a particular lifetime recombine and continue within a new incarnation • Key example: when one candle is lit, and another candle is unlit, you can light one candle from the other • The flame passes from one candle to the unlit wick of the other candle, lighting it • One’s Karma affects elements of personality to reappear in another lifetime, but not necessarily the very next lifetime rels 120 - appleby

  12. Liberation from Samsara Hinduism: • moksha Buddhism: • nirvana • Both mean “liberation” from the cycle of life, death and rebirth • Nirvana = the release from suffering and rebirth that brings inner peace • A person may experience or attain nirvana’s detachment during his or her lifetime • Moksha =liberation or freedom from personal limitation, egotism and rebirth • A person may come to understand or experience the sacred reality of spiritual oneness or unity with Brahman rels 120 - appleby

  13. Additional Componentsof the Dharma 5 moral rules/ 5 precepts: • Do not destroy life; Show kindness and compassion • Do not steal; Practice generosity and renunciation • Do not engage in sexual misconduct; Seek joyous satisfaction with one’s spouse • Do not lie; Seek truth, discernment and insight • Do not become intoxicated; Be mindful, content and aware rels 120 - appleby

  14. Additional Teachings Later – 3 more precepts: • Do not eat solid food after noon • Do not dance, sing, view entertainment, or wear garlands, perfumes or jewelry • Do not sleep on high or wide beds 4 Conditions to Seek: • Wealth (lawful) • Good renown • Long life • Birth in heaven 4 Good Deeds (Use of wealth) • Make family and friends happy • Ensure against worldly dangers • Make offerings to family, friends, gods, and ghosts • Support worthy religious people rels 120 - appleby

  15. Three Refuges / Three Jewels To become a follower of the Buddha, persons affirm their commitment to: • The Buddha • “I go for refuge in the Buddha” • The Dharma • “I go for refuge in the teachings” • The Sangha • “I go for refuge in the community” rels 120 - appleby

  16. “When a person wishes to become a Buddhist, the first step he or she takes is to go to the Buddha, Dharma and Sangha for refuge. Since the time of the Buddha, taking this Threefold Refuge has identified a person as a Buddhist.” • Analogy of a Journey “A Buddhist who wishes to attain Enlightenment regards the Buddha as his guide, the Dharma as his path and the Sangha as his travelling companions. He repeats the formula of taking refuge before an image of the Buddha or a monk. Taking refuge is the first step on the path to Enlightenment.” rels 120 - appleby

  17. Life at Gampo Abbey • • (9:50 video clip) PemaChodron rels 120 - appleby