module 5 quality assurance n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Module 5: Quality assurance PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Module 5: Quality assurance

Module 5: Quality assurance

165 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

Module 5: Quality assurance

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Module 5: Quality assurance

  2. What is a quality assurance system? Look at these images for some ideas about what quality assurance systems are used for in health and social care services. A quality assurance system measures the performance of a service against a range of standards to see how well it is running and to make sure good quality care is provided. Module 5: Quality assurance

  3. What factors affect quality assurance? The standards that services have to meet depend on a range of factors such as legislation, codes of conduct and regulations. Click on the influences below to match them to the colours of the three factor headings.Click here for the answers. Health & Safety at Work Act (1974) Promoting equality and diversity Data protection The Care Standards Act (2000) Accountability of services Manual handling Following safe working practices Disability Discrimination Act (1995) Regulations Legislation Codes of conduct Module 5: Quality assurance

  4. Quality assurance methods Inspections and monitoring Complaints procedures Staff training Awards for quality of service ? ? Quality assurance Star ratings ? ? Professional registration Performance management Consultation with the public How many forms of quality assurance can you think of? Discuss then click on each image below to see our suggestions or click here for a blank diagram to complete. Module 5: Quality assurance

  5. Monitoring Services are monitored and inspected internally or externally, which provides information about the quality of care. Click on the sectors below to find out who the inspection bodies are. The Health Inspectorate Wales (HIW) The Social Services Inspectorate Wales Estyn (Wales) and Ofsted (England) Health care Children’s services Social care Module 5: Quality assurance

  6. Complaints procedures Each service must have a complaints procedure in place, with clear guidance as to what to do if someone is not happy with the service. Click on the video icon to see a clip about how to complain in the NHS then answer the questions below. Record your ideas here: When should you complain? When you are not happy with the service you have received. This should be done immediately. What are the benefits of a complaints procedure? It can gives service users confidence that they can influence the level of service they receive. Module 5: Quality assurance

  7. Consulting users Service users can help develop and improve services in many ways. How many forms of public consultation can you think of?Click on each picture below to reveal some suggestions. Questionnaires sent to households or handed out Anonymous suggestion boxes for service users Patient forums where individuals speak on behalf of users ? Public consultation ? ? PALS: provides advice and resolves problems for NHS patients Leaflets about available services Module 5: Quality assurance

  8. Performance management Services and staff have their performance monitored against defined targets. Identify targets Training Identify ways to overcome weaknesses Identify ways to address the targets CPD Monitor staff and service performance against the targets Identify weaknesses Observations Assessments Module 5: Quality assurance

  9. Staff training Different forms of training are provided to staff within health, social care and children’s services to ensure they are able to provide effective care. What forms of training can you think of? Manual handling Forms of training First aid Fire safety Health & safety Module 5: Quality assurance

  10. Professional registration Professional registration shows an individual’s level of competency. With which professional bodies are the individuals below likely to be registered? General Teaching Council Doctor General Medical Council Teacher Nursing and Midwifery Council Nurse Module 5: Quality assurance

  11. Quality awards and star ratings What do these images represent? A Charter Mark is a quality award and a way of rewarding good practice. All public sector organisations can apply for formal assessment to receive a Charter Mark. Star ratings are performance indicators used in the NHS. They indicate how well a service is run. Services are graded from zero to three. Module 5: Quality assurance

  12. Continuous professional development Employees should keep up to date with practices, identify their areas of weakness and seek ways to address these. This promotes good quality care. How can care workers continue to develop professionally? Record four more ideas below then click to see our suggestions. Mentoring other individuals or being mentored by someone who is more experienced. Gaining further qualifications. • Going on external courses to update knowledge. • Being inducted so that policies and procedures are followed. • Internal training. • Reading about changes in practice. Module 5: Quality assurance

  13. Discussion questions • Why is it important for service users to be able to provide feedback on their care? • Why are codes of conduct needed when legislation may already be in place? • Why might care workers need to continue to develop professionally, even once they are qualified to work in the sector? Module 5: Quality assurance