1 / 24

Srimad Bhagavatam Cantos One and Two

Pada-padma The Lotus Feet of Krishna. Srimad Bhagavatam Cantos One and Two. Rev. 1 aug 2007. All 12-Cantos. Srimad Bhagavatam is complete in 12-cantos. 12-Cantos 18,000 Texts. 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1. 11 & 12 are the Crown of His head. The 10th Canto is His smiling face.

Télécharger la présentation

Srimad Bhagavatam Cantos One and Two

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. Pada-padma The Lotus Feet of Krishna Srimad Bhagavatam Cantos One and Two Rev. 1 aug 2007

  2. All 12-Cantos

  3. Srimad Bhagavatam is complete in 12-cantos 12-Cantos 18,000 Texts

  4. 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 11 & 12 are the Crown of His head The 10th Canto is His smiling face Cantos 3-9 rise up to His lotus face Cantos one & two are Krishna´s lotus feet

  5. Srimad Bhagavatam is the literary incarnation of God

  6. General Summary Epilog 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Krsna’s-pastimes Manvantaras Lotus Feet of Krsna

  7. Cantos One & Two we will discuss later. Now let’s see how they fit into the other Ten Cantos. 2 1 Lotus Feet of Krsna

  8. Cantos 3-9 discuss Manu-avatars and other Avatars (incarnations). 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 Manvantaras

  9. 11 10 Krishna’s Pastimes Cantos Ten and Eleven discuss Krsna’s pastimes. Krsna is not an avatar of God. He is avatara-avatari, the source of all incarnations. To appreciate His full personality we must first see His different partial incarnations. These are presented in Cantos 3-9.

  10. Types of Avataras Purusa-avataras They are like the Prison Minister, Prison Warden & Prison Guards. They are always with the material world.

  11. Types of Avataras Lila-avataras – They come to the “prison” sometimes, giving a certain lesson.

  12. Types of Avataras Manu-avataras– They are in charge of the universe for a fixed period during each day of Brahma. Brahma is the demigod in charge of the universe, but he is not managing things from moment to moment. Just as on a ship there is a Captain but also Officers of the Watch.

  13. Manu-avataras Brahma is the head of this universe. In each of his daysthere are fourteen Manu-avatars one after another. The Srimad Bhagavatam takes us through them in Cantos 3-9. Along with them we see also, so many other incarnations of Krsna until, in the 10th Canto we can understand Krsna directly.

  14. 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 Our Manu, Vaivasvata-manu The other thirteen Manus The first Manu, Svayambhuva, and his children Details of Cantos 3 – 9 The Manu-avataras

  15. Cantos Three - Seven Svayambhuva-manu and his wife Satarupa had five children. Three daughters: Devahuti, Akuti and Prasuti (The Uti sisters) Two sons: Uttanapada and Priya-vrata A memory device: DAPUP, the order that these children appearin the Bhagavatam.

  16. Cantos Three – Seven Analysis by Chapter Groups 7 6 5 4 3 11-15 Narada X Yuddhisthira> VAD 1-10 K equal to everyone (Hiranyakaspiu) 18-19 Daksa> 60 Girls> Hiranyaksa 14-17 Vrtasura 7-13 Indra/V’rupa/Tvasta/Vrta 4-6 Pracetas> Daksa> 1-3 Hells Avoided (Ajamila) 14-26 SG x MP (Forest of ME, Hells) 7-13 Bharata x Rahugana (Forest of ME) 4-6 Rsabhadeva 1-3 Priyavrata > Agnidhra> Nabhi> 24-31 Puranjana> Pracetas 15-23 Prthu 13-14 Dhruva> 6> Anga> Vena 8-12 Uttanapada> Dhruva 2-7 Prasuti x Daksa > Sati 1 Akuti x Ruci, Devah. Daughters 20-33 Devahuti x Kardama> Kapila 13-19 Varaha avatara 5-12 Maitreya x Vidura 1-4 Vidura x Uddhava Do you see each of the children of Svaymbhuva Manu on the right? The Bhagavatam tells about them and their children one after another.

  17. Canto Eight Analysis by Chapter Groups In Canto Eight Maharaja Pariksit asks about the thirteen other Manus. 15-24 Bali, Vamanadeva, Matsya 13-14 Manus 8-14 5-12 Manus 5-6 (Kurma, Mohini) 1-4 Manus 1-4 (Gajendra) 8

  18. Canto Nine Analysis by Chapter Groups 9 14-24 Ila> Pururava>>Yadu (Krsna-Balarama) & Puru, Kurus 6-12 VM> Iksvaku>>Saubhari Muni>> Sagar>>Rama 4-5 Ambarisa 1-3 Vaivasvata Manu> Ila, Sukanya x Cyavana, Nabhi In Canto Nine we hear about the current Manu, Vaivasvata Manu. His descendents include Krsna.

  19. Canto Ten & Eleven Analysis by Chapter Groups 30-31 Dep Yadus & Krsna 7-29 Final Instruction to Uddhava 2-5 Final Yud'str (Nava yogendras) 50-90 Dvaraka 41-49 Mathura, 4-40 Vrndavana 1-3 Birth of Krsna Canto Ten are Krsna’s pastimes in Vrndavana, Mathura, Dvaraka, and Canto Eleven His departure. 11 10

  20. Canto Twelve Analysis by Chapters Canto Twelve finishes the dynasty of Vaivas-vata Manu, and includes a summary of Srimad Bhagavatam. 7-13 Summary & Glories of SB 4-6 Departure of M. Parikshit 1-3 Conclude Dynasty Vaivasvata 12

  21. General Summary Epilog 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Krsna’s-pastimes Manvantaras Lotus Feet of Krsna

  22. Anjana Suta Academy Hanumatpresaka Swami 304 Astor Way; Franklin, TN 37064; USA www.JayaRama.US PdP 12 Cantos Summary Rev. 1 Aug 2007

More Related