Download
data review october 10 2013 roosevelt middle school n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school

data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school

85 Views Download Presentation
Download Presentation

data review october 10, 2013 roosevelt middle school

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. data reviewoctober 10, 2013roosevelt middle school Oklahoma State Department of Education

  2. Math Department Data Review

  3. Agenda • Looking at Benchmark 1: - Comparing 2012-13 with 2013-14 • Mastery of skills taught by Benchmark 1 • Student Growth on Math OCCT: -2011-12 2012-13 • Findings • Interventions • Questions

  4. Breakdown of Students TestedMath Benchmark I • A total of 621 students were tested 7th Grade: 308 of 308 8th Grade: 313 of 325 98% of Roosevelt’s students tested

  5. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2013-14

  6. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2012-13 4

  7. Comprehensive Benchmark I7th Grade Math SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  8. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2013-14

  9. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2012-13

  10. Comprehensive Benchmark I8th Grade Math SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  11. Percent Correct – Benchmark I 33% 32% 31%

  12. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2013-14 4 *Note: 25 students Percent Correct: 39% 40

  13. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2012-13

  14. Comprehensive Benchmark IAlgebra I SY2012-13 vs SY2013-14

  15. Algebra I Mrs. Shepelwich (Algebra I teacher) attends PLCs at U.S. Grant High School She is there 3 days a week

  16. 7thGrade • Skills Taught By Benchmark 1 • Add, subtract, multiply and divide integers • Add, subtract, multiply, and divide fractions • Skills Mastered: Benchmark 1 • None, w/ exception of Honors Math (PASS 1.1, 2.1a, 2.2a, 3.1) *Note:7th grade has been remediating towards their power standard of two-step equations, which is one-third of the exam. Will have been taught by Benchmark 2.

  17. 8thGrade • Skills Taught By Benchmark 1 • PASS 2.2a: Laws of Exponents • Skills Mastered: Benchmark 1 • PASS 2.2a: Laws of Exponents (For all classes) • ALG I (8th grade): 1.1a, 1.1b, 2.2a, 3.1, 5.1, 5.3

  18. Student Growth on Math OCCT 2011-2012  2012-2013

  19. Math OCCTs 2011-12 vs 2012-13

  20. Student Growth OCCTs SY2011-12 to SY2012-13 *Note: mobility at RMS is high. However, useful to think of as “cohort.”

  21. Student Growth OCCTs SY2011-12 to SY2012-13

  22. Algebra I For SY 2012-13, there was a 100% pass rate on EOI

  23. Findings Benchmark 1 • 7th Grade: showed no mastery of PASS Skills • The lesson plans are oriented to build a good foundation for students who are deficient in skills from either the 5th or 6th grade. These skills include performing operations with integers, fractions and mixed numbers , order of operations and one-step equations. The pass skill for two step equations and inequalities are 7th grade pass skills that will be covered before the next comprehensive benchmark test. • 8th Grade: mastery on skill 2.2a (Exponent Laws) Math OCCTs • 6th Grade: 6% decrease • 7th Grade: 14% increase • As a cohort (6th7th, more students in Unsatisfactory Performance Band)

  24. Findings (Continued) Math OCCTs • 8th Grade: 19% increase • As a cohort (7th8th, 34% decrease in Unsatisfactory, increase of students in LK, Proficient, and Advanced) Algebra I • 100% pass rate for SY 2012-13. • Students this year are coming in a little lower.

  25. Interventions Students who have not mastered skills are asked to come to tutoring before/after school and/or Saturday School. Algebra I students will be monitored closely and pulled after Benchmark 2 if necessary. 6th Grade Teachers (2012-13) who moved to 7th Grade currently receive instructional coaching through Pearson.

  26. Professional Learning communitiesandprofessional development review Roosevelt Middle School Math Department

  27. PLC Activities • Subject Level Collaboration (common lesson plans and common assessments) • Grade Level Collaboration (behavior issues and interventions, attendance issues/initiatives, engaging activities) • Department Level Collaboration (vertical alignment from year to year) • School Level Collaboration (feeder site connectivity, coming year preparation and placement)

  28. PLC Expectations • Establish Norms (have them posted) • Have an Agenda (if an agenda is thorough enough, minutes are not really necessary) • Focus (WHAT DO WE WANT THEM TO KNOW?) • Co-Create and Administer Common Assessments and Lesson Plans (HOW WILL WE KNOW IF THEY KNOW IT?) • Discuss Common Assessment Results in PLC (WHAT WILL WE DO IF THEY DID NOT LEARN IT?and WHAT WILL WE DO IF THEY DID?)

  29. 7th Grade Math PLC • Protocol……………………………………..B- • Focus………..……………………………….B • Common Tests/Lessons…………..………C • Remediation………….…………………….B • Enrichment……………….…………………C

  30. 8th Grade Math PLC • Protocol……………………………………..A • Focus………..……………………………….A • Common Tests/Lessons…………..………A • Remediation………….…………………….B • Enrichment……………….…………………C

  31. Math Department Professional Development • Mrs. Nelson & Mrs. Tyler – PAR Coaching • RMS Veteran Teachers - PEER Coaching • Dr. Sharon Kramer – PLC Coaching • Jenifer Albright-Borts – SIOP Coaching • Dedra Stafford – Technology Coaching • Carole Kelley – CCSS Coaching • Jane Guffey – Best Practices Coaching

  32. Closing the Achievement Gap

  33. NEW MONITORED INTERVENTIONS • WATCH THE DATA • CHANGE ADVISORY (25 MINUTES/DAY) TO LITERACY INITIATIVES ONLY (READING STRATEGIES, JIGSAW BOOK STUDIES, COMPASS ON COWS, ETC.) • MAPS ADJUSTMENT OF LIBRARY RECONSTRUCTION • LOCATE OUR BEST READING/READING COMPREHENSION TEACHERS AND CHANGE SCHEDULES/PULL OUTS AS NEEDED • LUNCH AND LEARN • RE-ARRANGE OUR LIBRARY PROCEDURES SO THAT ALL STUDENTS ARE READING LEXILE APPROPRIATE BOOKS ONLY • COMPASS IN COMPUTER CLASS POPULATED BY READING SCORES, PRESCRIPTIVE TO STUDENT BY STANDARD • SIOP COACHING (DISTRICT AND PEARSON)

  34. Bench 1 math 8 by ed groups

  35. Data Review – Language Arts Roosevelt Middle School October 10, 2013

  36. OCCTSY2011-12 vs. SY2012-13

  37. OCCTSY2011-12 vs. SY2012-13

  38. OCCTSY2011-2 vs. SY2012-3

  39. Writing Interventions • Every test in the school is required to have at least one short answer. • Short Answer Rubric. • School-Wide Paragraph Format. • Cross-curricular collaboration. • Research writing support from computer classes.

  40. School-Wide Paragraph Format

  41. Writing Interventions • Every test in the school is required to have at least one short answer. • Short Answer Rubric. • School-Wide Paragraph Format. • Cross-curricular collaboration. • Research writing support from computer classes.

  42. Total Reading Students Tested 97% of Roosevelt Middle School reading students were tested.

  43. 7th Grade ReadingBenchmark 1, SY 2013-4

  44. 7th Grade ReadingComprehensive Benchmark 1, SY2012-13 vs. SY2013-14

  45. 8th Grade ReadingBenchmark 1, SY 2013-4

  46. 8th Grade ReadingComprehensive Benchmark 1, SY2012-13 vs. SY2013-14

  47. Interventions • Focus on Foundational Standards • Test-Taking Strategies. • Exit Assessments • ACE Paragraph • OCCT-aligned multiple choice practice • Weekly test practice. • In-class Accountable Reading. • Differentiation • Independence • 25 Book Campaign • Tracking • Scales

  48. Focus on Foundational Standards

  49. Interventions • Focus on Foundational Standards • Test-Taking Strategies. • Exit Assessments • ACE Paragraph • OCCT-aligned multiple choice practice • Weekly test practice. • In-class Accountable Reading. • Differentiation • Independence • 25 Book Campaign • Tracking • Scales

  50. Test-Taking Strategies