70 likes | 82 Vues
<br>The problem is that Utah laws require you to exhaust at least $3,000 of that PIP coverage on car accident-related medical expenses,â€ explains best car accident attorney in Salt Lake City. â€œFailure to do so bars you from filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver and his/her insurance company in order to recover additional damages, including but not limited to lost wages, loss of earning capacity, pain and suffering, and others.â€<br>
E N D
WHAT IS THE PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION (PIP) PERSONAL INJURY PROTECTION (PIP) THRESHOLD LAW?
In Utah, every auto insurance policy comes with personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. It is not optional. PIP coverage comes with the package. This type of coverage provides policyholders with at least $3,000 of benefits for medical bills associated with the car accident-related injury regardless of whether the policyholder was the victim or the at-fault party.
PIP coverage is made available to you right after you notify your insurance company about the motor vehicle crash. And while having a minimum of $3,000 immediately available to pay for medical bills is undoubtedly a great thing, there is one downside that is often overlooked by victims and their attorneys in Salt Lake City and all across Utah.
“The problem is that Utah laws require you to exhaust at least $3,000 of that PIP coverage on car accident-related medical expenses,” explains best car accident attorney in Salt Lake City accident attorney in Salt Lake City. “Failure to do so bars you from filing a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver and his/her insurance company in order to recover additional damages, including but not limited to lost wages, loss of earning capacity, pain and suffering, and others.” car
The worst thing you can do is wait too long after the accident before seeking medical attention. If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident in Salt Lake City or elsewhere in Utah, it is paramount that you receive medical care right away and keep track of your medical expenses. It is important that you exhaust your PIP coverage (at least $3,000 in medical expenses related to the car accident injury), or you will not be able to recover more damages.
However, as always, there are exceptions to the general rule. In the case with PIP coverage, you are not legally required to exhaust PIP coverage if you wish to file a claim against your insurance company or if your claim involves wrongful death, permanent disability, or disfigurement. Be sure that failure meet the $3,000 PIP threshold will prompt your insurance adjuster to deny your personal injury claim personal injury claim, arguing that your car accident-related injury was not serious enough if you did not even spend $3,000 on medical treatments.
JARDINE LAW OFFICES, P.C., JARDINE LAW OFFICES, P.C., That is why it is vital to be legally represented by an experienced motor vehicle accident attorney in Utah in order to recover maximum damages and obtain the compensation that you truly deserve. Contact the Jardine Law Offices, P.C., to speak about your case. Call at 801-451-9555 801-451-9555 or fill out this contact form free consultation. contact form to get a