1 / 34

Tewksbury Town Hall Rehabilitation CPA Fund Project

Tewksbury Town Hall Rehabilitation CPA Fund Project. Special Town Meeting October 5, 2010. Introductions Overview Architectural Drawings Community Preservation Act Funding Questions and Answers. Town Hall Rehabilitation. Overview. Dedicated in 1920, 16,000 sf.

lou
Télécharger la présentation

Tewksbury Town Hall Rehabilitation CPA Fund Project

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.

E N D

Presentation Transcript


  1. Tewksbury Town Hall Rehabilitation CPA Fund Project Special Town Meeting October 5, 2010

  2. Introductions • Overview • Architectural Drawings • Community Preservation Act Funding • Questions and Answers

  3. Town Hall Rehabilitation Overview

  4. Dedicated in 1920, 16,000 sf. • Former Police Station, Library and various Town Offices • Currently serves as Offices for: • Board of Selectmen • Town Clerk • Town Manager • Veterans Agent • Administrative Services • Serves the public for Board and Committee Open Meeting requirements. • No significant renovations since being built • Renovation discussions started 1985 BuildingHistory

  5. Building Issues • Not Americans with Disabilities Act compliant for public access or employee use. • Building Code issues • Lacking fire sprinkler protection • Leaking roof, lack of insulation and outdated deteriorated windows • Inefficient heating and ventilation • Outdated plumbing and electrical • Inefficient space utilization • Lack of public meeting space for boards and community • Lack of proper Public Record storage and document space

  6. Town Clerk’s Public Entrance Ceiling

  7. Town Clerk’s Vault Spacebefore it rains...

  8. Town Clerk Records Vaultwhen it rains.

  9. Balcony and Ceiling

  10. Side Entrance Staircase

  11. West Side Staircase Basement Floor

  12. StorageAreabehind the Auditorium

  13. West Side Staircase Basement Ceiling

  14. BasementBoiler Room

  15. Renovation Goals • Retain historic features and character • Improve resident accessibility • Comply with ADA and CPA • Create functional office space • Increase public and community meeting space • Update mechanical and plumbing • New roof, insulation and replace windows

  16. Proposed Project • Rehabilitate 16,000 sf and construct 2,500 sf additional space in ADA and CPA compliance • Install 3 story access elevator • Improve second floor space • Improve basement for office space for Community Development or other Offices • New plumbing, heating, AC, roof and windows • Increase and improve document storage to State requirements. • Preserve the Lobby, including stairways and plaques and Auditorium, including stage façade, ceiling and windows

  17. CPA Fund Project Costs for STMRehabilitation Costs $5,883,303 Oversight Costs +$220,000 Total $6,103,303

  18. Town Hall Rehabilitation ArchitecturalDrawings

  19. Town HallFront View

  20. Town HallLeft Side View

  21. Town HallRight Side View

  22. Town HallRear View

  23. Basement Floor Plan

  24. Main Floor Plan

  25. Second Floor Plan

  26. Town Hall Rehabilitation Community Preservation Act Funding

  27. In accordance with the Tewksbury Community Preservation Committee’s Criteria for Historical proposals: • Protect, preserve, enhance, restore and/or rehabilitate historic, cultural, architectural or archaeological resources of significance, especially those that are threatened; • Protect, preserve, enhance, restore and/or rehabilitate town-owned properties, features or resources of historical significance; • Protect, preserve, enhance, restore and/or rehabilitate the historical function of a property or site; • Support the adaptive reuse of historic properties; • Are within a Tewksbury Historic District, on a State or National Historic Register, or eligible for placement on such registers, or on the Tewksbury Historical Commission’s Cultural Resources Inventory; • Demonstrate a public benefit; or • Demonstrate the ability to provide permanent protection for maintaining the historic resource.

  28. Preference will be given to proposals that address as many of the following general criteria as possible: • Are consistent with current planning documents that have received wide scrutiny and input and have been adopted by the town; • Preserve the essential character of the town • Save resources that would otherwise be threatened • Demonstrate practicality and feasibility, and demonstrate that they can be implemented expeditiously and within budget; • Produce an advantageous cost/benefit value; • Preserve or utilize currently owned town assets; and • Receive endorsement by other municipal boards or departments.

  29. Total Renovation Cost Estimate $6,103,303 Existing CPA Funds Available = $ 1,552,851.98 CPC commits $1,503,303.00 of the available . (Leaving a $49,548 balance available in CPA balance.) Total Costs are $6,103,303, minus commitment of $ 1,503,303 = $ 4,600,000. CPA Funding and Borrowing

  30. Amount to borrow is $ 4,600,000. Financing Town Hall in accordance with the CPA -FY2012 Estimated Surcharge = $ 583,740 -Deduct 10% each for affordable housing and open space, and add 5% for buffer = 25% $583,740 x 75% = $437, 805 -Therefore, we can only borrow against what the first payment of $437,805 will cover. CPA Funding and Borrowing

  31. Amount to borrow is $ 4,600,000 For example: First Bond Payment @ 4.5% for 20 years= $437,000 (Below our threshold of $437,805) In this example: Total 20 year interest= $ 2,173,500 Portion of average home ($368K)CPA surcharge ($50.78): Year 1 Approx. $37.84 Year 20 Approx. $20.81 CPA Funding and Borrowing

  32. Town Meetings approved CPA funds in total of $417,500 for the Architect and Design.May 2007-         25,000May 2009-       142,500Oct. 2009-         250,000 #1 Total_________________________________$417,500 Town Meeting approved CPA Funds totaling $425,000 for Preservation of Records at  Town Hall.Oct 2009-   50KMay 2010- 375K #2 Total_________________________________$425,000 Town Meeting History

  33. STM Oct. 5, 2010 CPA fund contribution to town hall = $1,503,303 Previously Approved CPA Funds Architect & Design (2007-2009) +417,500 Preservation of Records (2009 -2010) +425,000 Up front total CPA fund contribution = $2,345,803 Total Project Costs:  $6,103,303 +    417,500+   425,000 $ 6,945,803 $2,345,803 ÷ $6,945,803= 33.77% (of Total Project Costs) Tewksbury’s CPA ‘Down Payment’

  34. Example Bond Payment Impact on CPA Surcharge@ 50% State Match@ 75% State Match

More Related