SlideServe
Menu
Préférences
© SlideServe · v2026

Advanced Formatting Features

micah avatar
19 diapositives · 531 Views · Jul 21, 2014

Advanced Formatting Features. Chapter 4. Styles. Body text The main paragraphs in a document Headings Titles that are often bold and in a larger and different font than body text Style Named set of formats Select text or paragraph

Advanced Formatting Features - slide 1
01 / 19Advanced Formatting Features
1 / 17

Télécharger la présentation

Advanced Formatting Features
Une image / un lien ci-dessous est fourni (tel quel) pour télécharger la présentation

Politique de téléchargement : le contenu du site vous est fourni TEL QUEL pour votre information et votre usage personnel ; il ne peut être vendu, concédé sous licence ni partagé sur d’autres sites sans l’accord de son auteur.Le contenu vous est fourni TEL QUEL, pour votre information et votre usage personnel uniquement. Téléchargez la présentation en cliquant sur ce lien. Lors du téléchargement, si vous ne parvenez pas à télécharger une présentation, l’éditeur a peut-être supprimé le fichier de son serveur.Pendant le téléchargement, si vous ne parvenez pas à obtenir une présentation, le fichier a peut-être été supprimé par l’éditeur.

F I N

Plus de contenu associé

Transcription de la présentation
  1. Advanced Formatting Features Chapter 4

  2. Styles • Body text • The main paragraphs in a document • Headings • Titles that are often bold and in a larger and different font than body text • Style • Named set of formats • Select text or paragraph • Click any of the Quick Styles (Styles included in Word to format text) on the Home tab or • Click the More button to display more styles • Click Clear Formatting or Click Home ⇒ Clear Formatting to change the formatting of the paragraph back to Normal style

  3. Styles • Kept together in sets • Home ⇒ Change Styles ⇒ Style Set and select a style from the list • New styles can be created when built-in styles are not appropriate • Right-click a formatted paragraph • Select Styles ⇒ Save Selection as a New Quick Style or • Right-click the Quick Style in the gallery and select Modify • To remove a style from the Quick Styles gallery • Right-click the style and select Remove from Quick Styles Gallery

  4. Practice: Volcanoes • Complete part 1

  5. Creating Tables • Table • Consists of rows and columns of cells which can contain text or graphics • Cell • Intersection of a row and a column • Row • Horizontal series of cells • Column • Vertical series of cells • Boundaries • Column and row borders • Used to change the width of a column or the height of a row

  6. Formatting a Table • To create a table • Insert ⇒ Table and then move the pointer over the grid to select the number of cells for the table • Press the Tab key to move from cell to cell • Formatting a Table • Position the insertion point • Click Layout ⇒ Select to display a menu of selection options • Cell Alignment • Use the align cell contents buttons • Rotate Text in a cell • Click Layout ⇒ Text Direction • Change Cell Margins • Layout ⇒ Cell Margins

  7. Formatting a Table • Table Style • Click to apply to a table • Change cell borders • Click Design ⇒ Borders • Shading • Click Design ⇒ Shading • Built-in Table Styles • Insert ⇒ Table ⇒ Quick Tables and then select a Built-in table style

  8. Sorting and Calculating Data in Tables • Sorting • Layout ⇒ Sort • Ascending (low to high) • Descending (high to low) • Calculations • Place insertion point in a cell • Layout ⇒ Formula and then select the appropriate formula • To update after making changes • Right-click the cell w/formula • Select Update Field to recalculate amount

  9. Practice: Volcanoes • Complete part 2

  10. Creating a Table of Contents • Table of Contents (TOC) • List of headings and corresponding pages numbers in a document • Click References ⇒ Table of Contents and select a style from the displayed gallery of built-in styles • Each entry is a hyperlink to the heading in the document • CTRL + Click

  11. Creating Sections in a Document • Section Break • Used to divide a document into sections. • Click Page Layout ⇒ Breaks which displays a list of breaks

  12. Section Headers and Footers • To create different headers in sections • Place the insertion point in the header • Click Design ⇒ Link to Previous so that it is no longer selected • Front matter • Information that comes before the body of a report • Body • Contains the information being presented • Click Design ⇒ Page Number ⇒ Format Page Numbers to display a dialog box • Select a format in the Number Format list

  13. Hyphenating a Document • Hyphenating • A process that divides words at the end of lines with a hyphen so that part of the word wraps to the next line. • To automatically hyphenate a document • Click Page Layout ⇒ Hyphenation ⇒ Automatic • Select Manual to display each word as it is selected for hyphenation

  14. Practice: Volcanoes • Complete part 3

  15. Using Outline View • Outline View • Displays the organization of a document • View ⇒ Outline • Click Promote or Demote • Applies next higher or lower level style • Click Demote to Body Text • Applies Normal style • Click Move Up or Move Down • Move the paragraph before or after the preceding paragraph • Click Expand or Collapse • Displays or hides the text under the heading containing the insertion point • Use Show Levels • Displays different heading levels

  16. Citing Sources and Creating a Bibliography • Bibliography • List of sources cited and consulted in preparation of a document • Usually on a separate page at the end of a document • Citation • The notation within a document that refers to a source listed in the bibliography • Click • References ⇒ Manage Sources • Select New to add information for a source

  17. Citing Sources and Creating a Bibliography • Insert Citation • Place insertion point where citation is to appear • Click References ⇒ Insert Citation • List of sources appears • Click a source to create a citation • Create Bibliography • References ⇒ Bibliography • Click a format for the bibliography

  18. Themes • Theme • Named set of formats that change the colors, fonts, and other effects associated with styles • Used to maintain a consistent look in multiple documents • To change a theme • Click Page Layout ⇒ Themes • Click a theme in the gallery • To change formatting within the theme • Click Page Layout ⇒ Colors, Page Layout ⇒ Fonts, or Page Layout ⇒ Effects

  19. Practice: Volcanoes • Complete part 4