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advertising media planning

advertising media planning. Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? Reach & Frequency. gross impressions. The raw numbers of media audiences, in duplicated form (the same person can be counted more than once). target audience reach. Total Target 100%. 80%

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advertising media planning

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  1. advertising media planning • Main idea: how much of your target are you reaching, and how many times? • Reach & Frequency

  2. gross impressions • The raw numbers of media audiences, in duplicated form (the same person can be counted more than once)

  3. target audience reach Total Target 100% 80% Reach The total number of different persons exposed to an ad at least once, as a percentage of the total population of the target audience

  4. reach & frequency • When to emphasize reach • New product introduction • New marketing/advertising objectives • Increase brand awareness • Sales promotion support • Exploit competitor weaknesses

  5. reach

  6. frequency The average number of times the audience reached is exposed to a specific advertisement = 4.0x Frequency

  7. reach & frequency • When to emphasize frequency • Lack of unique message • Limited brand differentiation • Significant competitive noise levels • Combat competitive attack • Overcome media and/or budget limitations

  8. frequency • Frequency distribution • Quintiles • Individual exposures • Relationship of reach to frequency • Reach x frequency=GRPs • Inversely related

  9. effective frequency • Effective frequency numbers • Standard 3+ for TV or printCould be higher (5+) for radioFrequency caps for internet • Effective reach numbers (usually 3+) • Identify reach goal at established effective frequency level

  10. effective reach The percent of the target exposed to a message a specific number of times, thereby communicating the message effectively Usually 3+ Message Frequency % Target 75% 65% 55% 45% 35% + + + + + Reach 55% of the target 3 or more times

  11. effective (3+) reach

  12. media mix • When to mix media types • Extend reach • Flatten frequency distribution • Reinforce message/creative synergy • Reach different audiences

  13. media mix • Estimating media mix reach & frequency • Random duplication • Reach= (a + b) – (a*b)

  14. MEDIA BUYING MEDIA BUYING

  15. some considerations in buying media • Supply & demand • Media buyer input • Media buying experience

  16. cost-per-thousand • CPM = cost to reach 1,000 people in the target • Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience

  17. cost-per-thousand

  18. cost-per-thousand

  19. cost-per-thousand Example (Cost / Audience) X 1,000=CPM ($411,250 / 60,120,600) x 1,000 = $6.84

  20. measuring audiences in advertising vehicles • Cost-per-rating point (CPP) • Important to evaluate the price versus the amount of audience represented by the ratings

  21. cost-per-point

  22. cost-per-point Example Everybody Loves Raymond Series Finale Unit Cost/TRPs=CPP $500,000/12.5 = $40,000 CPP

  23. media costs • TV – buy “spots” (standard :30) • Television • Dayparts • Network TV • Local Stations • Syndication • Cable TV

  24. media costs • Radio – buy “spots” (standard :60) • Network radio • Spot radio

  25. media costs • Magazines – buy pages (standard FP4C) • General-interest (dual-audience) magazines • Women’s service magazines • Home (shelter) magazines • “Twenty-something” adult magazines

  26. media costs • Newspapers – buy “column inches” (i.e., 3 cols x 10.5” = quarter page) • Run of paper • Supplements • Custom inserts

  27. media costs • Internet – buy “impressions” • Banners • Rich media • Other Internet advertising

  28. media costs • Internet – can also buy other ways: • Cost-per-click (CPC) standard for search • Cost-per-acquisition (CPA) for direct response campaigns

  29. media costs • Out-of-home media – buy “panels” for 4 weeks • Poster panels • Bulletins • Transit advertising

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