SlideServe
Menu
Préférences
© SlideServe · v2026

Data Analytics for Educators: Maximizing Data Insights and Actions

zafirah-eman avatar
16 diapositives · 291 Views · Nov 19, 2014

Learn to identify, prepare, and analyze data for Excel, including using pivot tables, conditional formatting, and printing guidelines. Take actionable steps based on data insights to improve educational practices.

Data Analytics for Educators: Maximizing Data Insights and Actions - slide 1
01 / 16Data Analytics for Educators: Maximizing Data Insights and Actions
1 / 17

Télécharger la présentation

Data Analytics for Educators: Maximizing Data Insights and Actions
Une image / un lien ci-dessous est fourni (tel quel) pour télécharger la présentation

Politique de téléchargement : le contenu du site vous est fourni TEL QUEL pour votre information et votre usage personnel ; il ne peut être vendu, concédé sous licence ni partagé sur d’autres sites sans l’accord de son auteur.Le contenu vous est fourni TEL QUEL, pour votre information et votre usage personnel uniquement. Téléchargez la présentation en cliquant sur ce lien. Lors du téléchargement, si vous ne parvenez pas à télécharger une présentation, l’éditeur a peut-être supprimé le fichier de son serveur.Pendant le téléchargement, si vous ne parvenez pas à obtenir une présentation, le fichier a peut-être été supprimé par l’éditeur.

F I N

Plus de contenu associé

Transcription de la présentation
  1. Data Analytics

  2. Norms • Cell Phones on Vibrate • Respect all opinions

  3. Agenda • Identifying data for review • Prepping data for Excel • Printing prep • Sorting / Filtering data • Conditional Formatting • Pivot Tables

  4. Objectives • To take external data and be able to highlight data for action

  5. Identifying Data Sources • Teacher anecdotal records • School anecdotal records • State reports • Data provided by vendor products

  6. Locating EWI (Administrator) 1 2 3 4

  7. Exporting EWI • Click the “Export to Excel” link • Wait, then • Click on “Go to Excel” • Locate downloaded file • Downloads folder • Desktop

  8. Data Prep • Data in the cells need to be numbers and not formatted as text or formulas • One method of changing data properties is described below. • Open the downloaded file • Using “Save as” option from “File” menu • Choose from “Format” drop down menu, Comma Separated Value (.csv) • Save file • Close Excel window • File > open recent > select recent csv file

  9. Printing Data • Printing considerations • What should be printed • Certain Columns / Rows • Sheets • How it should be displayed • Alignment • Headers • Multiple sheets

  10. Printing Data-Hiding Columns • Highlight Rows from Header • Right (Control) Click selection > Select option • Blue header indicates hidden rows

  11. Print Data - Headers • Priniting Headers • Helps when data spans pages • Data is organized with headers on every page • File > Page Setup > Sheet • Click on the Icon • Select row / column to repeat on the printed page

  12. Conditional Formatting • Using Criteria to highlight data • Highlight column/row • Select conditional formatting icon • Select formatting type • Editing rule • Select Conditional formatting icon > select edit rule > select rule to edit

  13. Pivot tables • Data summarization tool • Automatically sorts, counts, totals or give the averages of the data stored

  14. Pivot Tables • Select data • Click on the Data Tab • Click on the Pivot table icon • Using the pivot table browser, select criteria for display

  15. Action Questions • With the data available, • What is the data telling you? • What are your next steps? • What is actionable?

  16. Contact • Jan Tong, • Program Specialist • Educational Technology • jtong@philasd.org