Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server.
Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis Chapter Seven
Learning Objectives • Explain cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis, the CVP model, and the strategic role of CVP analysis • Apply CVP analysis for breakeven planning • Apply CVP analysis for profit planning • Apply CVP analysis using activity-based costing (ABC)
Learning Objectives (continued) • Employ sensitivity analysis to more effectively use CVP • Adapt CVP analysis for multiple products • Apply CVP analysis in not-for-profit organizations • Identify the assumptions and limitations of CVP analysis
CVP Analysis • CVP analysis is a method for analyzing how operating decisions and marketing decisions affect profit • CVP relies on an understanding of the relationship between variable costs, fixed costs, unit selling price, and output level (volume)
CVP Analysis (continued) CVP analysis can be used in: • Setting prices for products and services • Determining whether to introduce a new product or service • Replacing a piece of equipment • Determining breakeven point • Making “Make-or-buy” (i.e., sourcing) decisions • Determining the best product mix • Performing strategic “what-if” (sensitivity) analysis
CVP Analysis (continued) The CVP model is as follows:
CVP Analysis (continued) For convenience, the model is commonly shown in symbolic form:
CVP Analysis (continued) Three additional concepts regarding the CVP model: • Contribution margin: • Unit contribution margin (cm) = Unit sales price (p) – Unit variable cost (v) • Unit contribution margin (cm) = the increase in operating profit for a unit increase in sales = (p – v) • Total contribution margin (CM) = Unit contribution margin (cm) x Units sold (Q)
CVP Analysis (continued) • Contribution margin ratio = Unit contribution margin (cm)/unit sales price (p) = (p – v)/p = cm/p • The contribution income statement: • A useful way to show information developed in CVP analysis • Classifies costs based on cost behavior (fixed versus variable) rather than cost type (product versus period) • Provides an easy and accurate prediction of the effect of a change in sales on profits
Strategic Role of CVP Analysis CVP analysis can help a firm choose its strategic position and execute its strategy by providing an understanding of how changes in sales volume affect costs and profits • This process is most important for cost leadership firms during the manufacturing stage • Differentiation firms use CVP analysis to assess profitability and desirability of new products and features
Strategic Role of CVP Analysis (continued) CVP analysis is also important in life-cycle costing and target costing • CVP analysis can assist in life-cycle costing by helping to determine whether a product is likely to achieve its desired profitability, the most cost-effective manufacturing process, the best marketing and distribution channels, the best compensation plan, whether to offer discounts, etc. • CVP analysis can assist in target costing by showing the effect on profit of alternative product designs that have different target costs
Breakeven (B/E) Planning Determining the “breakeven point” is the starting point of many business plans: • Breakeven is the point at which revenues equal total costs and profit is zero • The breakeven (B/E) point can be determined in either of two ways: • Graph method • Contribution Margin Method: • Based on units sold (Q) • Based on sales dollars ($) • Equation Method: • Based on Units Sold (Q) • Based on Sales Dollars ($)
CVP Graph and Profit-Volume (PV) Graph • The CVP graph illustrates how the levels of revenues and total costs change as output (sales volume) changes • Sales below the breakeven point result in a loss for the firm • A profit-volume (PV) graph illustrates how the level of operating profit changes as output (sales volume) changes • This graph allows a person to clearly see how total contribution margin, and therefore profit, changes as the output level (i.e., volume) changes
Example: Breakeven Planning Household Furnishings, Inc. (HFI) wants to perform a B/E analysis given the following expected results for 2007 and 2008:
CVP Analysis in Profit Planning CVP analysis can be used to determine the sales volume needed to achieve a desired level of profit:
CVP and Profit Planning (continued) Assume that HIFI has the option to choose between two machines that will complete the same operation with the same quality, but with different variable costs per unit (v) and different total fixed costs (F). B/E analysis can help HIFI find the level of sales (called the “indifference point”), such that having sales > that this level will favor the option with the higher fixed costs, and having sales < this level will favor the other option. Which alternative should be chosen?
CVP and Profit Planning (continued) Management decisions about costs and prices usually must include income taxes because taxes affect the amount of net profit at a given level of sales
Sensitivity Analysis and CVP Sensitivity analysis is the name for a variety of methods that examine how an amount (e.g., B/E point) changes if factors involved in predicting that amount change (e.g., sales volume or unit variable cost). For CVP, three methods of sensitivity analysis are commonly employed: (1) What-if analysis (using the contribution margin and contribution margin ratio) (2) The margin of safety (or, margin of safety ratio), and (3) The degree of operating leverage
Sensitivity Analysis and CVP (continued) What-if analysis is the calculation of an amount given different levels of a factor that influences that amount • Example: if contribution margin (cm) is $40 per unit and the cm ratio is 0.53333, each unit change in sales volume affects profit by $40 and each dollar change in sales affects profits by $0.53333
Sensitivity Analysis (continued) Margin of safety is the $ amount of sales above the B/E point (i.e., forecasted sales level minus the B/E sales level) • Margin of safety can also be used as a ratio • The margin of safety ratio is the margin of safety divided by planned sales • This ratio is a useful measure for assessing risk
Sensitivity Analysis (continued) Degree of operating leverage (DOL) is the ratio of CM to operating profit: • A higher DOL value indicates a higher risk in the sense that a given change in sales will have a relatively greater % impact on profits • The DOL can be thought of as the extent to which fixed costs characterize the cost structure of an organization: the higher the percentage of fixed costs, the higher the DOL (and therefore the higher the operating risk)
Sensitivity Analysis (continued) • The DOL is defined at each sales volume level • Organizations with high DOL work hard for even small % increases in sales volume (because these changes are magnified as % changes in operating profit)
Multi-Product CVP Analysis • If all fixed costs are traceable to individual products, then the organization can develop a separate CVP model for each product • Alternatively, the multi-product firm can make an assumption regarding a standard sales mix in which its products are sold • Sales mix can be determined on the basis of sales dollars or unit sales • The assumption of sales mix allows the firm to calculate and use a weighted-average contribution margin (cm) per unit and weighted average cm ratio to do multi-product CVP analysis
Example: Multi-Product CVP Analysis Windbreakers, Inc. sells light-weight sports/recreational jackets and currently has three products: Calm, Windy, and Gale. Total (joint) fixed costs for the period are expected to be $168,000, and we assume the windbreakers’ sales mix, measured by sales dollars, will remain constant. Additional information is provided below.
Assumptions of CVP Analysis CVP analysis has its limitations as it relies on assumptions: • Linearity and the relevant range: • The CVP model assumes revenues and costs are linear over a “relevant range” (even though the actual cost behavior may not be linear) • Outside the relevant range, these calculations will not be accurate • Step costs also make approximation via the relevant range unworkable; CVP analysis becomes much more cumbersome
Assumptions of CVP Analysis(continued) • Identifying fixed and variable costs: there are several issues • Which fixed costs should be included? • Should fixed costs be accounted for using the cash or accrual method? • Have all relevant unit variable costs been included (production, selling, distribution, etc.)?