Download
steps towards a nj driver s license n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Steps towards a NJ Driver ’ s License PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
Steps towards a NJ Driver ’ s License

Steps towards a NJ Driver ’ s License

146 Vues Download Presentation
Télécharger la présentation

Steps towards a NJ Driver ’ s License

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Steps towards a NJ Driver’s License • Permit- Age 16 (early bird) or 17 • Probationary license • Basic license- Class D

  2. Vehicle Information • TITLE • A legal certificate of vehicle ownership issued by the MVC. • It lists: • current owner's name/address • make, model & year of vehicle • the first date sold • vehicle mileage

  3. New Jersey Vehicle Registration Application information includes: • Name of the vehicle’s current insurance company name and the policy number. • Show proof of vehicleownership. (manufacturer’s certificate of origin, dealer’s certificate of sale or a title) • Show proof that the required sales taxhas been paid. Note: In New Jersey a motorist must be at least 17 years old to register a vehicle.

  4. NJ Vehicle Inspection • *All gas-fueled vehicles, registered in NJ must pass inspections every two years only for emissions. (Changed as of August 1, 2010) • *Motorcycles are now exempt from inspection. • Where? • Free at a state inspection facility • $20.00 - $40.00 at a state licensed private inspection facility (gas station) • Vehicle passesinspection • A certificate of approval is put in the lower left • corner of the windshield. Vehicle fails inspection One month to repair problems

  5. NJ Vehicle Insurance • Motor vehicle liability insuranceis mandatory in the State of New Jersey. • Proof that you will be held financially responsibility if you cause damage to property or injure a person • An Insurance Identification Card must remain in the vehicle with the driver. • Shown; • prior to inspection • when involved in an accident • when stopped by law enforcement for a traffic violation or roadside spot check. • Driving with an uninsured vehicle can result in fines, community service, license/registration suspension and insurance surcharges.

  6. Types of Insurance Liability Insurance Collision Insurance covers vehicle damages if you cause a crash or hit someone without insurance Comprehensive Insurance covers vehicle damage caused by something other than a collision, (fire, natural disasters, falling objects, vandalism) No fault Insurance pays medical bills Factors that determine cost of insurance: • Age (under 25 - more expensive) • Driving record • Miles per year you drive • Where you live • How you drive to work (car pool) • Gender (men drive more often) • Marital status • Value of vehicle (more expensive the car, the more insurance cost) • Type of car (sport car vs. sedan) • Driver education course

  7. 6 point ID verification A resident must present different documents to prove age, identity and legal status. Each document is worth a different point value; 1. One primary document (4 points): Birth certificate, driver’s license, US passport, US citizenship or US adoption papers 2. One secondary document (1-3 points): Social Security card, bank statement, ATM card, high school/college ID 3. Proof of address (must): Credit card bill, high school report card, rental contract or if under 18, MVC will accept Parent/Guardian Certification that verifies you are living with the parent/guardian at address. 4. Social Security card (must)

  8. Graduated Driver Licensing Program & Requirements - GDL 1. Permit (Special Learners Permit) • 16+ years • Display decal • Vision & Written Exam • Behind the Wheel Course – 6 hours • Supervised driving with NJ Licensed driver; 21+ years old w/ minimum 3 years experience (must be in front passenger seat) • Not permitted to drive after 11:01pm and before 5:00am • Limited to only ONE non-family member passenger • ALL passengers must wear seatbelts

  9. Graduated Driver Licensing Program & Requirements - GDL 2. Probationary License • 17+ years old • Display Decal • Road Test • Not permitted to drive after 11:01pm and before 5:00am • Limited to only ONE non-family member passenger, unless 21+ years old • ALL passengers must wear a seat belt • Do NOT need a supervising driver

  10. Graduated Driver Licensing Program & Requirements - GDL 3. Basic License • 18+ years old • Must meet all probationary requirements • Have minimum 1 year driving experience with valid probationary license • Must have < 2 motor vehicle points and not convicted of any other serious motor vehicle offenses

  11. Minimum requirements for drivingTests • Eyesight • 20/50 vision with or without corrective lenses. • One eye only, the 20/50 rule and the applicant must have documentation signed by a licensed physician. • Vision recheck, MVC may require a vision recheck of a New Jersey motorist . • Written • 80 percent, or 40 of the 50 questions, must have correct answers. • Health • Health Questions and inform examiner of health problems. • If the applicant has a health problem, a medical review may be necessary.

  12. Road Test Testing on the skills of driving Driving performance may be the reason for failure • Driving in reverse • Following distance • Corners and intersections • Parallel parking • Steering properly • Stopping • Yielding • Use of horn • Signaling

  13. The vehicle may be the cause of failure • Improper, expired or no inspection sticker • Lack of examiner access to foot brake or parking brake • Any defect or condition that affects the safe operation of the test vehicle, – Poor brakes – Unsafe tires – Vehicle interior is not in clean condition – Vehicle failed inspection – Fast engine idle – Missing seat belts

  14. NJ License Plates • 2 matching license plates; • one front plate • one rear plate • Both plates must be clean and visible. • The rear plate must be lit so it is visible from 50 feet at night. Specialty plates Using license plate covers that obscure or conceal any lettering on the license plate is a violation, with a fine of up to $100.