STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

slide1 n.
Download
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE PowerPoint Presentation
Download Presentation
STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE

play fullscreen
1 / 6
STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE
176 Views
Download Presentation
rad
Download Presentation

STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Co-directors: Ann Kovalchick & Karin Sandell Faculty Freshman Partners: Dorothy Bryant, Music, College of Fine Arts Paul Castagno, Theater, College of Fine Arts Gary Coombs, Management Systems, College of Business David Shafie, Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences Jorg Waltje, Modern Languages, College of Arts & Sciences Valerie Young, Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering STORIES FROM A SLIPPERY SLOPE OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04

  2. Shared goals for faculty development • Leveraging campus change initiatives • Faculty recruitment process BASE CAMP OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04

  3. Supports learning resource sharing which saves time & duplication Access to online innovations Support for distance learning needs Desire to share best practices Preferences for experiential learning approaches MERLOT helps promote the value of teaching Campus Faculty Learning Community model provides a common ground THE CLIMB OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04

  4. Logistics of adequate interaction with editorial boards to ensure mentoring • Need clear deadlines for reviews • Socialization process can be frustrating for those in discipline areas with limited MERLOT resources • Local mechanisms needed to ensure incentives and leadership commitment to affect P & T • Flyers and handouts have limited value • Competing demands on time THE “FALLURE” OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04

  5. Six continuing faculty & 3 new partners: Mike Roy, Instructional Developer Paul O’Donnell, Wed/multimedia Designer Lorraine Wochna, Reference Librarian Full $3,500 stipend for 10 reviews & 15 resource contributions $1,500 for three volunteer positions for 5 peer reviews or 10 resource contributions AT THE SUMMIT Everyone assumes you’re a wine expert OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04

  6. OHIO UNIVERSITY MERLOT COMMUNITY • Dorothy Bryant, Music, College of Fine Arts, bryantd@ohio.edu • Paul Castagno, Theater, College of Fine Arts, castagno@oak.cats.ohiou.edu • Gary Coombs, Management Systems, College of Business, coombs@ohio.edu • Ann Kovalchick, Director, Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, annk@ohiou.edu • Paul O’Donnell, Wed/multimedia Designer, Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, odonnelp@ohiou.edu • Mike Roy, Instructional Developer, Center for Innovations in Technology for Learning, roy@ohiou.edu • Karin Sandell, Director, Center for Teaching Excellence, sandell@ohiou.edu • David Shafie, Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences, shafie@ohio.edu • Jorg Waltje, Modern Languages, College of Arts & Sciences,mwaltje@ohio.edu • Lorraine Wochna, Alden Library, Reference & Instruction Librarian, wochna@ohiou.edu • Valerie Young, Chemical Engineering, College of Engineering, youngv@ohio.edu OHIO UNIVERSITY: MIC 04