1 / 27

The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch. The executive branch is made up of four parts President Vice President Cabinet Executive Office of the President. President. Vice President. Presidential Cabinet 2008-2012. The Presidential Cabinet is appointed by the President and approved by the Senate.

Télécharger la présentation

The Executive Branch

An Image/Link below is provided (as is) to download presentation Download Policy: Content on the Website is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use and may not be sold / licensed / shared on other websites without getting consent from its author. Content is provided to you AS IS for your information and personal use only. Download presentation by click this link. While downloading, if for some reason you are not able to download a presentation, the publisher may have deleted the file from their server. During download, if you can't get a presentation, the file might be deleted by the publisher.


Presentation Transcript

  1. The Executive Branch • The executive branch is made up of four parts • President • Vice President • Cabinet • Executive Office of the President

  2. President

  3. Vice President

  4. Presidential Cabinet2008-2012 The Presidential Cabinet is appointed by the President and approved by the Senate. It is a group of people put in charge of specific departments of government and are the top advisors to the President in the respective departments.

  5. Secretary of State • Acts as the senior executive department of the U.S. government; serves as the president’s principal adviser on U.S. foreign policy; conducts negotiations relating to U.S. foreign affairs; and advises the president on the appointment of U.S. ambassadors, ministers, consuls and other diplomatic representatives. Hillary Clinton

  6. Secretary Treasurer • Promotes prosperous and stable American and world economics. In charge of the money! TimothyGeithner

  7. Secretary of Defense • Trains and equips the armed forces through the four military departments — the Army, Navy, Air Force and Marines. (The Marine Corps. is a second armed service in the Department of the Navy) Leon Penetta

  8. Attorney General • Heads the Department of Justice — Represents the citizens of the United States by enforcing the laws in the public interest. Eric Holder

  9. Secretary of the Interior • Protects and provides access to the nation’s natural and cultural heritage and honors responsibilities to Native American tribes and our commitments to island communities. Kenneth Salazar

  10. Secretary of Agriculture • Directs the production of agriculture, food safety, nutrition, rural American trade, natural resources and research. Tom Vilsack

  11. Secretary of Commerce • Promotes job creation, economic growth and a sustainable development and improves living standards for all Americans. John E. Bryson

  12. Secretary of Labor • Prepares the American work force for new and better jobs and ensures the adequacy for America’s workplace. Hilda Solis

  13. Secretary of Health and Human Resources • Protects the health of all Americans and provides essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. Kathleen Sebelius

  14. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) • Provides a decent, safe and sanitary home and suitable living environment for every American. Shaun Donovan

  15. Secretary of Transportation • Oversees the formulation of national transportation policy and promotes intermodal transportation. Ray LaHood

  16. Secretary of Energy • Fosters a secure and reliable energy system that is environmentally and economically sustainable, to be a responsible steward of the nation’s nuclear weapons, to clean up facilities and to support continued U.S. leadership in science and technology. Steven Chu

  17. Secretary of Education • Ensures equal access to education and promote education excellence for all Americans. Arne Duncan

  18. Secretary of Veteran Affairs • Serves American veterans and their families with dignity and compassion and acts as the principle advocate in ensuring that they receive help in recognition of their service to the nation. Eric Shinseki

  19. Secretary of Homeland Security • Concerned with protecting the American homeland and the safety of American citizens. Janet Napolitano

  20. Cabinet Level Officers • The Presidents main advisors that often determines final decisions, often referred to as the White House Staff. • Sometimes referred as the true power of the President since they are always involved in the final decision making processes.

  21. Vice President • Second in charge and line of succession and leader of the Senate. Over time the President has assigned many more responsibilities to the Vice President. Joseph Biden

  22. Chief of Staff • The highest ranking member of the Executive Office of the President of the United States and a senior aide to the President. Jack Lew

  23. Director of the Office of Management and Budget • The largest office within the Executive Office of the President of the United States. The are in charge of balancing and managing the budget of the United States. Jeffrey Zients

  24. United States Trade Representative • The United States government agency responsible for developing and recommending United States trade policy to the President of the United States. Ron Kirk

  25. Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) • Protects human health and safeguards the natural environment. Conducts research on the adverse effects of pollution and on methods and equipment for controlling it. Lisa Jackson

  26. Ambassador of the United Nations • The leader of the U.S. delegation to the United Nations. Susan Rice

  27. Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors • A group of three respected economists who advise the President of the United States on economic policy Alan B. Krueger

More Related