hinduism n.
Skip this Video
Loading SlideShow in 5 Seconds..
Hinduism PowerPoint Presentation


97 Vues Download Presentation
Télécharger la présentation


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - E N D - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Presentation Transcript

  1. Hinduism Daily Life, Rites, Festivals

  2. Daily Life Five Constant Duties • In addition to the normal activities associated with one's profession Hindus have five constant duties they must follow everyday in their lives. They go as followed: Dharma, Tirthay, Utsava, Samskras and SarvaBrahm.

  3. Daily Life Dharma • Dharma which translates into righteousness which is living a virtuous life in accordance with the teachings of the scriptures. Cultivate virtues of purity, self-control, detachment, thinking of others first, truth and ahims. Be respectful of parents, teachers, and elders. Dharma also means performing all duties associated with one's normal profession, and individual and social obligations. Work must be performed purely for its own sake. This means that all actions must be performed for excellence and not merely for reward.

  4. Daily Life • Tirthay • Tirthay which translates into pilgrimage is visiting different holy persons, temples, and sacred pilgrimage sites. Such journeys provide freedom from routine life and thereby freshen the mind. Pilgrimages also help to create a sense of togetherness in the family, since all members undertake the pilgrimages together.

  5. Daily Life Utsava • Utsava which translates into Holy Days is participating in festivals and holy days in the home and temple. Observe fasts on holy days. This practice inculcates God-consciousness, refreshes the mind and creates a sense of togetherness in the family and the community. Hindu sages tell us that occasional fasting prevents bodily diseases, restores the body's healing power, and heals the mind by removing lust, anger, hatred, pride, and jealousy.

  6. Daily Life Samskara • Samskara which translates into Sacraments is to perform various Samskras in accordance with the scriptures. Samskras are the religious ceremonies which mark and sanctify an individual's passage through life. They purify the mind by inculcating truthfulness in the mind, and purity and generosity in the heart.

  7. Daily Life SarvaBrahm • SarvaBrahm is translates into God is in all which is the Hindu belief that God lives in the hearts of all beings and that you have to “practice this truth, realize it and be free.”

  8. Festivals • There are many different types of festivals Hindu’s celebrate. Such as MakarSankranti, Thaipusam, Rama Navami and Vishnu.

  9. Festivals • MakarSankranti • A festival of harvest and the celebration of winter solstice. “Sankranti” refers to the transmigration of the sun from one zodiac, to the other. There are 12 sankrantis in all but the MakarSankranti refers to the transition from Sagittarius to Capricorn. Cock fights are held on this day as a prominent part of the festival.

  10. Festivals Thaipusam • Celebrated by the Thai community during the month of Thai (January/February), celebrating a star at its highest point so it can vanquish the evil demon Soorapadman. The festival consists of eating Satvik food while constantly thinking about god.

  11. Festivals Rama Navami • A celebration of the birth of Lord Rama. He is the 7th incarnation of the Dashavatara of Vishnu. Also known as ChaitraMasaSuklapakshaNavami, as it marks the end of the nine day Chaitra-Navratri. Highlights of the day include Panakam a sweet drink prepared with jaggery and pepper.

  12. Festivals Vishnu • A new year festival celebrated in Kerala. Falls on April 14th on the Gregorian calendar. The most important event is a feast consisting of raw rice, fresh lemons, golden cucumber, and many more foods.

  13. The Hindu Rites • The Hindus have several rites such as the Jatakarma (birth ceremonies) , Upanayana (initiation), Vivaha(marriage) and Antyeshti (funeral and rites for the dead).